Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Cooper and Higginbotham dropped from Wallabies squad

Wallabies coach Michael; Cheika has dropped Quade Cooper from his squad

Wallabies coach Michael; Cheika has dropped Quade Cooper from his squad

Wallabies head coach Michael Cheika has named a training squad for a series of camps ahead of the Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup clash in Sydney on August 19.

Cheika has excluded players from the Brumbies due to their commitments to the Canberra side being in the Super Rugby play offs as well as some big names such as Quade Cooper and Scott Higginbotham.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The selected players will meet at their State bases this coming Thursday for the first mini-training camp before the entire extended squad convenes in Newcastle on Sunday July 23.

Eleven uncapped players are in the extended train-on group with seven of them set for their first Wallabies squad experience (Fa’agase, Korczyk, Rodda, Uelese, Magnay, Meakes and Rona).

Western Force props Pek Cowan and Tetera Faulkner have been rewarded for their fine Super Rugby form, as they return to the national training group for the first time since their last Tests back in 2014.

It’s also the first squad selection for Kurtley Beale since the 2015 Rugby World Cup while Queensland pair Taniela Tupou and Izaia Perese will get another chance to impress following their selection as Development Players on the 2016 Spring Tour.

The week-long strength and conditioning camp in Newcastle will form the first part of the lead-in to the opening Bledisloe Cup clash with a finalised squad to be named prior to a camp in Cessnock on Sunday August 6.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika said: “We have a lot of work to get done between now and August 19 when we play New Zealand in Sydney. That work started in June, we tried to maintain some of that throughout the last rounds of Super Rugby and now we start to take it up a level.”

“We want all of these guys to be very clear on what the trademarks are of the Wallabies game and then be equipped and ready to deliver it when asked to enter the arena for Australia, whether it’s for five minutes or the whole 80 minutes of every Test this season.”

“That is what our objective will be over the next couple of weeks and I can’t wait to get stuck into it,” Cheika said.

The Wallabies will begin their Bledisloe Cup campaign against New Zealand at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, on Saturday August 19.

Extended national train-on squad, excluding Brumbies players

Jermaine Ainsley*, Western Force
Adam Coleman, 12 Tests, Western Force
Pek Cowan, 10 Tests, Western Force
Jack Dempsey, 1 Test, NSW Waratahs
Kane Douglas, 31 Tests, Queensland Reds
Sef Fa’agase*, Queensland Reds
Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tests, Western Force
Ned Hanigan, 3 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Richard Hardwick, 2 Tests, Western Force
Michael Hooper, 68 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Sekope Kepu, 80 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Adam Korczyk*, Queensland Reds
Tolu Latu, 4 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Sean McMahon, 15 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Stephen Moore (c), 120 Tests, Queensland Reds
Tatafu Polota-Nau, 71 Tests, Western Force
Tom Robertson, 9 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Izack Rodda*, Queensland Reds
Rob Simmons, 71 Tests, Queensland Reds
Lopeti Timani, 7 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Taniela Tupou*, Queensland Reds
Jordan Uelese*, Melbourne Rebels

Kurtley Beale, 60 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Israel Folau, 55 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Bernard Foley, 45 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Will Genia, 78 Tests
Dane Haylett-Petty, 17 Tests, Western Force
Reece Hodge, 13 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Karmichael Hunt, 3 Tests, Queensland Reds
Samu Kerevi, 8 Tests, Queensland Reds
Marika Koroibete*, Melbourne Rebels
Campbell Magnay*, Queensland Reds
Billy Meakes*, Western Force
Eto Nabuli, 1 Test, Queensland Reds
Sefa Naivalu, 7 Tests, Melbourne Rebels
Izaia Perese*, Queensland Reds
Nick Phipps, 52 Tests, NSW Waratahs
Curtis Rona*, Western Force

*denotes uncapped player

Players not considered due to injury
Kyle Godwin
Lukhan Tui
James Slipper

Exit mobile version