Rugby Championship News

Cooper returns as Wallabies make six changes



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has named his team to play New Zealand’s All Blacks in Bledisloe Cup decider in Auckland and made six changes for the clash.

Cheika has rotated his squad and brought in Quade Cooper and Matt Toomua for Bernard Foley and Matt Giteau in the midfield, while Will Skelton switches with Dean Mumm to start the match with James Horwill in the second row.

Brumbies Nic White and Henry Speight alongside Waratahs number 8 Wycliff Palu have all been named in the run-on side for the first time in 2015.

Kane Douglas will also play his first match for the Wallabies since 2013 from the bench, after returning from Ireland on a long-term contract with the Australian Rugby Union.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said: “We know this week will be another huge challenge for the team and our biggest test to date, and we need to improve again on what we’ve produced in our previous matches.

“Wycliff, Henry and Kane have all worked hard for this opportunity and have brought a lot of energy to the group this week.”

Wallabies backrower David Pocock will celebrate his milestone 50th Test for Australia from the reserves bench; a monumental feat for the 27 year-old, who missed the last two international seasons due to injury.

Pocock reaches the 50-game mark in his eighth season of Test Rugby, having made his international debut for Australia off the bench against New Zealand in Hong Kong in 2008.

Chieka was full of praise for Pocock, who has been one of the Wallabies’ best in 2015.

“David has had to overcome some hurdles with regards to injury to reach this milestone but the way in which he’s got there through perseverance and a lot of hard work and patience is a great measure of his character.

“He has been one of our best players this season, and the respect he commands from his teammates and peers is a testament to the way he approaches the game.

“He knows that he will play a pivotal part in closing the match on Saturday night, and I expect he will put in a performance that all of Australia will be proud of.”


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore, C , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Will Skelton , 5. James Horwill , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Michael Hooper, VC , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nic White , 10. Quade Cooper , 11. Henry Speight , 12. Matt Toomua , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper, VC , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 17. James Slipper , 18. Greg Holmes , 19. Dean Mumm , 20. Kane Douglas , 21. David Pocock , 22. Matt Giteau , 23. Kurtley Beale

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.