Super Rugby

Crusader Dagg to earn 100th Super Rugby cap against Brumbies




All Blacks and Crusaders back Israel Dagg will will win his 100th Super Rugby cap at home against the Brumbies on Saturday after being named in his team’s starting side.

Dagg will become the the latest Super Rugby centurion when he takes the field as fullback on Saturday night as he starts in a team that Head Coach Scott Robertson has also included six debutants.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

“Izzy is obviously a talented individual, but he also impresses with his commitment and positive influence within the team environment,” Robertson said.

“To reach 100 Super Rugby games tonight is testament to both his undeniable skillset and determination to play at an elite level. We know our fans will be excited for him to run out on to AMI Stadium for his 100th match and as a team we want to make it a memorable one.”

Dagg will be joined in the backs by four Crusaders debutants – Bryn Hall at halfback; George Bridge and Seta Tamanivalu on the wings and Jack Goodhue at centre.

Halfback Ere Enari is also set to make his debut if he comes off the bench. Five eighths Richie Mo’unga and Ryan Crotty complete the starting back line, while Mitchell Hunt and David Havili provide cover from the bench.

The Crusaders forward pack is brimming with experience. Joe Moody and Owen Franks are the starting props with Wyatt Crockett and Mike Alaalatoa in reserve, and Ben Funnell and Codie Taylor will cover hooker. Scott Barrett and new Crusaders Captain Sam Whitelock will start at lock, with Luke Romano providing cover.

Loose forwards Jordan Taufua and Matt Todd will be joined by debutant Whetu Douglas at No.8, and Pete Samu will be ready to make an impact off the bench.


1. Joe Moody, 2. Ben Funnell, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Scott Barrett, 5. Sam Whitelock (C), 6. Jordan Taufua, 7. Matt Todd (VC), 8. Whetu Douglas *, 9. Bryn Hall *, 10. Richie Mo’unga, 11. George Bridge *, 12. Ryan Crotty (VC), 13. Jack Goodhue *, 14. Seta Tamanivalu *, 15. Israel Dagg

Replacements: 16. Codie Taylor, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Michael Alaalatoa, 19. Luke Romano, 20. Pete Samu, 21. Ereatari Enari *, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. David Havili,

* Crusaders debut

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.