Crusaders crush Bulls


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

This was a live match report.  




The Crusaders have a score to settle with the Bulls after losing 27-12 in last year’s Pretoria semifinal. They crushed the Brumbies 34-3 in Christchurch last Friday and picked up no injuries in the process.


Friday February 23
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Referee: Matt Goddard (AUS)
Head-to-Head: Played 14, Crusaders 9, Bulls 5
In Pretoria: Played 7, Bulls 4, Crusaders 3
Last season: Round 7, March 17 2007: Crusaders 32-10 Bulls at Jade Stadium, Christchurch; Semifinal, May 12 2007: Bulls 27-12 Crusaders at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria


Match detail


The Bulls were the first to score as Derick Hougaard slotted a penalty for the Bulls.


15.00: Derick Hougaard slots another kick for the Bulls.


27.00: The Crusaders give another penaly away and again Derick Hougaard slots it.


30.00: The Crusaders give yet another penalty away and yet again Derick Hougaard slots it.


31.00: Stephen Brett scores the first try of the match as they Bulls take their eye off the ball for a moment.


32.00 : Daniel Carter converts the try.


35.00 The Crusaders have awoken ! The Bulls give another penalty away and Daniel Carter slots it to bring the Crusaders within two.


39.00 The Crusaders blow a whole in the Bulls defence and they are away. Richard McCaw passes to  Andrew Ellis who scores another try for the Crusaders under the posts.  Daniel Carter converst as the Bulls have let in 17 points in 10 minutes.


41.21: The siren goes.


The half time Score was Bulls 12  Crusaders 17


42.00 : The Bulls open the half by losing Bryan Habana’s replacement wing Marius Delport to injury.


47.00: Richard McCaw is in the middle of a maul and as he goes to ground he reaches for the tryline and dots the ball down to score the try. Daniel Carter again converts.


The Crusaders are now in search of a fourth try for the bonus point with 30 minutes to go.


50.00: Things just get worse for the Bulls as Deon Stegmann is sent to the bin for 10 minutes. Daniel Carter slots the resulting penalty to bring up a personal total of 800 Super rugby points.


54.00: Another penalty is given away by the Bulls as Daniel Carter slots it to extend the lead. That’s 30 unanswered points.


60.00: Kade Poki scores the bonus point try for the Crusaders and Daniel Carter misses the conversion. As the victory is now safe the Crusaders pile on the replacements.


65.00 : The Crusaders get another try as the Bulls fans leave the stadium en masse. Nasi Manu scores the try from a charge-down. This try is converted.


42 unanswered points now.


68.00: The Crusaders continue to rack up the points as this time Daniel Carter scores a try. He then converts the try and leaves the field to rest.


49 unanswered points now.


 75.00: The Bulls finally get some points as  JP Nel gets the ball down behind the line. Morn’ Steyn converts the try.


77.00: The Crusaders are relentless as Leon MacDonald scores a try to bring up the fifty points for the visitors. Stephen Brett misses the conversion.


80.00; The siren goes.



The Full time Score is  Bulls 19  Crusaders 54




Tries –  JP Nel
Pen –  Derick Hougaard (4)

Con -Morn’ Steyn
Cards – Deon Stegmann (yellow)



Tries – Stephen Brett,Andrew Ellis,Richard McCaw,Daniel Carter, Nasi Manu, Daniel Carter,Leon MacDonald
Pen –  Daniel Carter (3)
Con -Daniel Carter(5)


15. Zane Kirchner,14. John Mametsa,13. JP Nel,12. Wynand Olivier,11. Marius Delport,10. Derick Hougaard,9. Fourie du Preez (c),8. Pedrie Wannenburg,7. Wikus van Heerden (v/c),6. Deon Stegmann,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp,4. Danie Rossouw,3. Rayno Gerber,2. Derick Ku’n,1. Gurthro Steenkamp
Resrves: 16. James vd Walt,17. Werner Kruger,18. Jaco Engels,19. Dewald Potgieter,20. Heini Adams,21. Morn’ Steyn,22. Danwel Demas

15. Leon MacDonald, 14. Kade Poki, 13. Casey Laulala,12. Stephen Brett,11. Scott Hamilton,10. Daniel Carter,9. Andrew Ellis,8. Mose Tuiali’i,7. Richard McCaw (captain),6. Kieran Read,5. Ali Williams,4. Brad Thorn,3. Greg Somerville,2. Corey Flynn,1. Ben Franks
Run on reserves: 16. Ti’i Paulo,17. Wyatt Crockett,18. Reuben Thorne,19. Nasi Manu,20. Kahn Fotuali’i,21. Hamish Gard,22. Caleb Ralph.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.