Super Rugby

Crusaders make two changes for Waratahs




Crusaders head coach Todd Blackadder named a Super Rugby team with two changes to play the Waratahs at AMI Stadium in Christchurch.

Half back Andy Ellis will start the match and will win his 150th Super Rugby cap making him the third Crusaders to reach the milestone along with Corey Flynn and Wyatt Crockett.

The two changes to the side that lost to the Highlanders are rotations at both prop and second five, with Joe Moody and Ryan Crotty taking the starting spots, and Wyatt Crockett and David Havili moving to the bench.

Blackadder said it would be a special occasion for Ellis, but also for the whole team who will be determined to make it a night to remember for their teammate.

“Andy is such a popular member of this team and we all want this to be a memorable night for him, for all the right reasons. 150 games is a significant milestone that only a few players can lay claim to, and Andy deserves all the credit he gets this week.

“It is particularly special for Andy to mark this milestone in front of a home crowd. This is the last home game we’ll play until July, so it would be great to get a strong turnout on Friday night to cheer the team on,” Blackadder said.


1. Joe Moody ,2. Codie Taylor , 3. Owen Franks ,4. Luke Romano , 5. Sam Whitelock , 6. Jordan Taufua , 7. Matt Todd , 8. Kieran Read (C), , 9. Andy Ellis, 10. Richie Mo’unga , 11. Jone Macilai, 12. Ryan Crotty, 13. Kieron Fonotia, 14. Johnny McNicholl, 15. Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16. Ged Robinson , 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Mike Alaalatoa, 19. Scott Barrett , 20. Tim Boys , 21. Mitchell Drummond , 22. David Havili , 23. Marty McKenzie

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.