Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Crusaders rest All Blacks for Sunwolves

Crusaders Head Coach Scott Robertson

CHRISTCHURCH, NEW ZEALAND - MARCH 17: Crusaders Head Coach Scott Robertson of the Crusaders looks on prior to the round four Super Rugby match between the Crusaders and the Blues at AMI Stadium on March 17, 2017 in Christchurch, New Zealand. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Crusaders Super rugby head coach Scott Robertson has opted to rest some of his All Blacks for this weekend’s match against the Sunwolves in Brisbane.

All Blacks Joe Moody, Codie Taylor, Scott Barrett, Richie Mo’unga and Jack Goodhue will all be rested for this match, with Bryn Hall to Captain the side at halfback.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

It is an all-new starting front row this week, while Luke Romano (lock) and Sione Havili (blindside) both earn starts, and Cullen Grace makes the switch to No. 8.

A further three changes in the backs sees Bryn, Brett Cameron and Braydon Ennor all start this week. 20-year-old Fergus Burke will get his first taste of Super Rugby against the Sunwolves, providing cover at first five-eighth, while experienced Super Rugby hooker and Tasman representative, Hugh Roach, joins the side as cover for Brodie.

“It’s really exciting to give these players an opportunity this week,” Razor said.

“We’re fortunate to have a great group of young players coming through, who all have big futures ahead of them. They’ve been training really consistently in our environment and we look forward to seeing them take their opportunity on Saturday.

“We also welcome Whetu back from injury, he’s an important leader in our group and has worked hard to come back so to be able to name him this week is awesome.”


1. George Bower,2. Brodie McAlister,3. Oliver Jager,4. Luke Romano,5. Mitchell Dunshea,6. Sione Havili,7. Tom Christie,8. Cullen Grace,9. Bryn Hall (C),10. Brett Cameron,11. Leicester Faingaanuku,12. Dallas McLeod,13. Braydon Ennor,14. Sevu Reece,15. George Bridge

Replacements : 16. Hugh Roach,17. Isi Tuungafasi,18. Michael Alaalatoa,19. Whetukamokamo Douglas,20. Tom Sanders,21. Ereatara Enari,22. Fergus Burke,23. Manasa Mataele

Exit mobile version