Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Crusaders rotate squad for Sharks clash

Kieran Read will play his 150th Super rugby match this weekend

Kieran Read will play his 150th Super rugby match this weekend

Crusaders Super rugby head coach Scott Robertson has rested a number of his players and named a much changed team to play the Sharks in Christchurch on Friday.

This Friday’s Super rugby match is the Crusaders final match at home before they fly to South Africa for the next two rounds of Super Rugby.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The front row is unchanged from the team that took the field against the Lions last week but there are changes elsewhere.

There is a new locking combination this week with Mitch Dunshea and Scott Barrett to start, and Luke Romano named on the bench.

Jordan Taufua gets a start on the blindside, and Matt Todd returns to Captain the team, in the absence of Sam Whitelock, who is on an All Blacks rest week.

Bryn Hall is another who returns to the squad and will start at halfback, with Mitch Drummond moving to the reserves, and Mitch Hunt gets an opportunity in the No.10 jersey in place of Richie Mo’unga, who is also on All Blacks rest.

Brett Cameron will provide cover in the reserves. A new midfield combination will take the field against the Sharks, with Jack Goodhue lining up to start at second five-eighth and Braydon Ennor retaining his spot at centre.

Goodhue, alongside Codie Taylor, has been named as Vice-Captain for this game.

The final change in the starting side sees promising young outside back Will Jordan start at fullback.

The Crusaders will celebrate another important milestone in this game, with Kieran Read set to lead the team out in what will be his 150th Super Rugby match.


15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Braydon Ennor, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 George Bridge, 10 Mitch Hunt, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Matt Todd (captain), 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Mitchell Dunshea, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Isi Tu’ungafasi, 18 Oliver Jager, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Ethan Blackadder, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Brett Cameron, 23 Tim Bateman

Exit mobile version