Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Crusaders unchanged for Chiefs

Codie Taylor of the Crusaders runs with the ball during the Super Rugby match between Stormers and Crusaders

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - MAY 18: Codie Taylor of the Crusaders runs with the ball during the Super Rugby match between DHL Stormers and Crusaders at DHL Newlands Stadium on May 18, 2019 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Crusaders Super rugby head coach Scott Robertson has named an unchanged team to play the Chiefs on Sunday at Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch.

Codie Taylor will once again Captain the side, following news earlier this week that Scott Barrett has been ruled out of Super Rugby Aotearoa to have surgery for a toe injury.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Taylor will be supported by Vice-Captains Whetukamokamo Douglas and David Havili.

Robertson told media this morning that giving the same 23 an opportunity to play together again this week is a chance to build combinations quickly given the short 10-week competition.

“We know the nature of the competition, it is a sprint, it’s short, sharp,” Robertson said.

“It’s really important to get off to a good start and that’s what we’ve done with the team that played well last week and [we’ve] rewarded them.”

Several Crusaders players are also set to turn out for their clubs this week, including Quinten Strange and Andrew Makalio, who are both returning from injury.

Kick off in the Crusaders match against the Chiefs is 3:35pm NZ time, Sunday 28 June at Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch.


5 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Braydon Ennor, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Whetu Douglas, 7 Billy Harmon, 6 Cullen Grace, 5 Mitchell Dunshea, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Codie Taylor (c), 1 Joe Moody

Replacements: 16 Brodie McAlister, 17 George Bower, 18 Oliver Jager, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Ethan Blackadder, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 David Havili, 23 Leicester Faingaanuku

Exit mobile version