Super Rugby

Crusaders v Jaguares Rd.8 Super Rugby Preview




Super Rugby reaches Round 8 this weekend and the action kicks off in Christchurch where the Crusaders host the Jaguares.

The Crusaders have never played the Jaguares before in Super Rugby so this will be a historic match.

The Crusaders will be aiming for a sixth straight win in this match and if they do it will be the first time since 2011 that they have won six in a row.

The Crusaders lost their first match this year (to the Chiefs) but since then they have gone unbeaten. Last week they beat the Force by one point but that was an away match at the end of a tour of South Africa and Australia.

The Jaguares are almost in the exact opposite position. They won their first match and have lost all of their subsequent matches but they are still on tour and this week will be the often dreaded third week on tour. Their tour continues to Japan next week.

In order to combat the tour fatigue the Jaguares have made nine changes for this match and a number of their stars return including team captain and Pumas star Juan Martín Hernández who comes in at 10.

Nicolas Sanchez has been rested for this week but with Hernandez at 10 the team will lose little on attack. Coach Raul Perez has made five changes in the forward pack and four changes to the backs.

Creevy forms a new front row by replacing Julian Montoya and he is joined by Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro who takes over from Ramiro Herrera.

Matias Alemanno comes into the second row for Tomas Lavanini and elsewhere in the pack Juan Manuel Leguizamón and Facundo Isa replace Pablo Matera and Leonardo Senatore

In the backs Gonzalo Mendoza Bertranou replaces Martin Landajo while Matías Moroni starts on the wing with Joaquin Tuculet at fullback and Jeronimo de la Fuente starts at centre.

The Crusaders have also made changes for this match. Israel Dagg returns to the side for the first time this year and is one of five changes to the side that played the Force.

In the forwards Props Joe Moody and Wyatt Crockett have rotated so that Moody takes the starting spot this week. Scott Barrett will pair up with Luke Romano at lock and Jimmy Tupou will provide cover.

Andy Ellis will be the starting halfback and Kieron Fonotia will start at centre. Mitchell Drummond, Sean Wainui and Ben Volavola will provide cover for the backs, while loose forward Tim Boys also comes onto the bench this week.

Ryan Crotty will win his 100th Super Rugby cap for the Crusaders in this week’s match.

The Crusaders have played three matches at home this year and they have won two.

The Bookies have given the Jaguares a 13 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Crusaders could tire late in the match but its reasonable to expect the Jaguares to suffer more from fatigue given their schedule. The Crusaders should win this by 7.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2.

Average score: N/A

Last result

Crusders record against the Jaguares

Match No.56:Crusaders v Jaguares
Date : Friday 15 April 2016
Venue : AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick Off local: 19:35 local
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Jamie Nutbrown
TMO : Aaron Paterson



1. Joe Moody ,2. Codie Taylor ,3. Owen Franks ,4. Luke Romano,5. Scott Barrett,6. Jordan Taufua,7. Matt Todd,8. Kieran Read (C),9. Andy Ellis,10. Richie Mo’unga,11. Nemani Nadolo,12. Ryan Crotty,13. Kieron Fonotia,14. Johnny McNicholl,15. Israel Dagg,

Replacements : 16. Ged Robinson,17. Wyatt Crockett,18. Mike Alaalatoa,19. Jimmy Tupou,20. Tim Boys,21. Mitchell Drummond,22. Sean Wainui,23. Ben Volavola,


1- Santiago García Botta , 2- Agustín Creevy (C) , 3- Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro , 4- Guido Petti , 5- Matías Alemanno , 6- Juan Manuel Leguizamón , 7- Rodrigo Báez , 8- Facundo Isa , 9- Gonzalo Bertranou , 10- Juan Martín Hernández , 11- Emiliano Boffelli , 12- Santiago González Iglesias , 13- Jerónimo de la Fuente , 14- Matías Orlando , 15- Joaquín Tuculet

Replacements : 16- Facundo Bosch , 17- Felipe Arregui , 18- Enrique Pieretto , 19- Juan Cruz Guillemaín , 20- Pablo Matera , 21- Felipe Ezcurra , 22- Joaquín Paz , 23- Lucas González Amorosino


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.