Super Rugby

Crusaders beat Waratahs in Nelson




The Crusaders have played the Waratahs 26 times in Super rugby since 1996 and the Crusaders have won 19 matches, lost 7 times and drawn none.

The Crusaders 19 wins out of 26 matches gives them a record of winning 73% of their matches against the Waratahs regardless of venue.

  • The Crusaders have won 12 of their last 14 regular season Super Rugby games against the NSW Waratahs; though, they’ll be out to avoid consecutive defeats in such fixtures for the first time since 2004.
  • The NSW Waratahs’only away win at the Crusaders in Super Rugby came in 2004 (43-19); they’ve lost on all 13of their other attempts.
  • The Crusaders have won their season opener in each of the last three Super Rugby campaigns; they have never previously done so on more than three successive occasions.
  • The Crusaders are undefeated in 31 Super Rugby games at home since the beginning of the 2017 campaign (W30, D1); the last team to defeat them at home was the Hurricanes in July 2016.
  • The NSW Waratahs have won seven of their last eight season openers when they’ve begun their Super Rugby season away from home; though, this will be the first time they’ve commenced their campaign on the road since 2013.
  • The NSW Waratahs haven’t won a Super Rugby game in New Zealand since April 2015, losing all nine of their attempts since.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The match is underway.

9.00: The first points of the match are scored by David Havili through a penalty goal. The Crusaders lead.

12.00: The Waratahs win a penalty back. Will Harrison slots the kick and levels the scores.

15.00: The Crusaders score the first try of the match as Will Jordan crosses the line. The Crusaders lead again.

16.00: David Havili is on target with the conversion and extends the lead for the Crusaders.

20.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. Will Harrison takes the shot and nails it.

25.00: The Waratahs get a penalty near the Crusaders 22 but they don’t throw the ball in straight. The Crusaders get the ball inside their 22 and run at the Waratahs and slip through the tackles and Braydon Ennor gets away for the try!

26.00: Havili adds the conversion to extend the lead.

28.00: Kurtley Beale almost gets the first Waratahs first try of the season but he is called back for a forward pass by Jake Gordon in the build-up.

33.00: The Waratahs are starting to look a little dangerous but their handling lets them down a little when it matters.

34.00: The Crusaders (Richie Mo’unga) kick wide and high for Leicester Faingaanuku who jumps high, receives the ball and slips off a tackle and then races for the line. TRY.

36.00: Havili curls the conversion in from near the sideline.

41.00: The Crusaders have a scrum just outside the Waratahs 22. It goes down so has to be reset.

42.00: The Crusaders win the scrum and attack. They get a penalty advantage for a high tackle and play on. When the Waratahs defense holds them out they are called back for the penalty. Havili will have a shot at goal.

He misses it.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Crusaders 24 Waratahs 6

The Crusaders kick-off and the second half is underway. Richie Mo’unga and Andrew Makalio have been replaced by Brett Cameron and Codie Taylor.

44.00: The Crusaders are playing with a little more determination this half.

46.00: The Waratahs break down the wing and Kurtley Beale makes huge ground but he offloads to Lalakai Foketi who gets tackled into touch ending what looked briefly like being the Tahs first try.

49.00: Penalty to the Crusaders. Havili kicks for touch and sets up the line out. Nothing comes from the line out and it is taken out by the Crusaders on the opposite side.

53.00: The Waratahs set up a line out on the Crusaders 22. They win the line out and move the ball across the field where Mark Nawaqanitawase is open. He dodges a couple of tackles and dives for the corner slamming the ball down on the line. TRY.

54.00:Will Harrison slots the conversion.

57.00: Nawaqanitawase gets an intercept as the Crusaders attack lethargically. He races away for the tryline beating everyone and scores in the same corner. TRY! His second in just a couple of minutes.

58.00: Harrison misses the conversion but the Waratahs are right back in this match.

60.00: The Crusaders hit back after a run from David Havili which ultimately sets up a ruck on the 5m line. The Crusaders recycle the ball and Braydon Ennor slips through and scores his second TRY.

61.00: Havili fails with the conversion attempt.

65.00: The Crusaders start their attack in their own half and move the ball through the hands. Several players are involved in the play but in the end Will Jordan injects the pace and goes over to score his second TRY.

66.00: Havili adds the conversion.

70.00: The Crusaders are playing the game inside the Waratahs half. They are probing away at the Waratahs waiting for them to make a mistake.

74.00: Penalty inside the Waratahs 22. The Crusaders take the penalty and kick for touch to set up the 5m line out.

75.00: The Crusaders win the line out. The ball gets to Luke Romano who powers through the tackles taking several players with him as he heads for the posts and then drives over. TRY.

76.00: Havili adds the conversion.

78.00: The Crusaders take their eye off the ball in their defenses and a gap opens up for Alex Newsome who slips through a hole and goes over to score. TRY.

79.00: The conversion is added and we have time for the restart.

80.00: The final whistle goes after a handling errror so the Crusaders have won.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The full-time score is Crusaders 43 (24) Waratahs 25 (6)


Tries – W.Jordan 2, B.Ennor 2, L. Faingaanuku, L.Romano
Pen – D. Havili
Con – D.Havili 6
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -M.Nawaqanitawase 2, A.Newsome
Pen – W.Harrison 2
Con -W.Harrison 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Dan Waenga
TMO :Shane McDermott



1. George Bower,2. Andrew Makalio,3. Oliver Jager,4. Scott Barrett (C),5. Mitchell Dunshea,6. Tom Sanders,7. Tom Christie,8. Whetukamokamo Douglas,9. Mitchell Drummond,10. Richie Mo’unga,11. Leicester Faingaanuku,12. Jack Goodhue,13. Braydon Ennor,14. Will Jordan,15. David Havili (VC)

Replacements : 16. Codie Taylor (VC),17. Isi Tu’ungafasi,18. Michael Alaalatoa,19. Luke Romano,20. Cullen Grace,.21. Bryn Hall,22. Brett Cameron,23. Sevu Reece.


Kurtley Beale, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Lalakai Foketi, Karmichael Hunt, Alex Newsome, Will Harrison, Jake Gordon, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper, Lachlan Swinton, Rob Simmons (capt), Tom Staniforth, Tetera Faulkner, Robbie Abel, Tom Robertson.

Replacements: Chris Talakai, Damien Fitzpatrick, Angus Bell, Ryan McCauley, Carlo Tizzano, Jack Dempsey, Mitch Short, Jack Maddocks.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.