Super Rugby

Cubelli one of two Brumbies changes for Blues



Super rugby unlocked : SR standings | SR unlocked fixtures | TriNations : TriNations standings | TriNations fixtures |


Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has made two changes to his Super Rugby team to play the Blues at Eden Park on Friday.

Larkham has brought Tomás Cubelli back replacing Joe Powell who made his first start last weekend.

Powell remains in the squad and is named on the replacements bench after playing 57 minutes against the Reds.

In the only other change to the starting side former Australian Sevens Representative, Michael Wells comes into the side to make his first Super Rugby start and replaces the injured Ben Hyne.

Hyne suffered a season-ending ankle injury just four minutes into his Super Rugby debut last Friday night against the Queensland Reds.

Scans this week have revealed the 22-year old has suffered a syndesmosis injury and will be sidelined for an extended period.

Wells has been used as a replacement in four matches for the Brumbies in 2016 since making his debut against the Stormers in round four in Cape Town. He played 74 minutes last Friday night after replacing the injured Hyne and has been named to start against the Blues at No. 8.

With Wells moving into the starting XV, Tom Staniforth has been named as a reserve after playing club rugby for Canberra Royals in the John I Dent Cup last weekend.

The rest of the Brumbies starting side will remain the same.

Winger Joe Tomane will play club rugby in Canberra this weekend as he continues his rehabilitation from a knee injury suffered in round nine.

David Pocock is also still recovering from a fractured eye socket suffered in the Wallabies first test against England in June.


1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Ben Alexander, 4. Rory Arnold, 5. Sam Carter, 6. Scott Fardy, 7. Jarrad Butler, 8. Michael Wells, 9. Tomás Cubelli , 10. Christian Lealiifano (c), 11.James Dargaville, 12. Matt Toomua, 13.Tevita Kuridrani, 14.Nigel Ah Wong, 15.Aidan Toua

Replacements : Josh Mann-Rea, Allan Alaalatoa, Ruan Smith, Blake Enever, Tom Staniforth, Joe Powell, Andrew Smith, Lausii Taliauli

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.