Deans rests McCaw for Bulls clash




Coach Robbie Deans has again chosen to rest captain Richie McCaw with Reuben Thorne, who moves from the blindside to lock, taking over the captaincy. McCaw was also rested in last week’s loss against the Stormers.

Openside flanker Tanerau Latimer makes his debut in the starting XV for the Crusaders, while super sub Johnny Leo’o starts on the blindside for the first time this season.

A final decision on the availability of Scott Hamilton, who suffered a shin injury against the Stormers, will be made later in the week.

The Crusaders team to play the Bulls at 7.10pm on Friday May 5 (5.10am Saturday May 6 NZ time) at Loftus Stadium, Pretoria is as follows:

1 Wyatt Crockett
2 Corey Flynn
3 Greg Somerville
4 Chris Jack
5 Reuben Thorne (Cptn)
6 Johnny Leo’o
7 Tanerau Latimer
8 Mose Tuiali’i
9 Andrew Ellis
10 Daniel Carter
11 Caleb Ralph
12 Aaron Mauger
13 Casey Laulala
14 Rico Gear
15 Leon MacDonald

16 Tone Kopelani
17 Campbell Johnstone
18 Craig Clarke
19 Brad Mika
20 Kevin Senio
21 Cameron McIntyre
22 Stephen Brett / Scott Hamilton

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.