Super Rugby

Donald one of six Chiefs changes for Stormers


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has named a team with six changes for their Super Rugby quarter-final against the Stormers at Newlands in Cape Town.

The Chiefs lost to the Highlanders last week so Rennie has adjusted his team for the sudden death quarterfinal match and brought in World Cup winner Stephen Donald.

In the forwards the tight five remains the same with Kane Hames, Nathan Harris, Atu Moli, Dominic Bird and Brodie Retallick primed for the intense physicality synonymous with South African forward packs.

In the loose forwards, Tom Sanders moves to the back of the scrum with Taleni Seu to start at blindside flanker. Sam Cane will lead the pack in jersey seven.

In the backs, Brad Weber has earned the start at halfback, with co-captain Aaron Cruden continuing his leadership at 1st five-eighth.

In the midfield Stephen Donald comes into the starting fifteen to don jersey 12, with Anton Lienert-Brown shifting to centre after regular starter Seta Tamanivalu injured his knee last weekend.

The back three sees James Lowe and Damian McKenzie retain their positions on the left wing and at fullback respectively, while Sam McNicol is promoted from the bench to start in jersey 14. There’s also several changes in the reserves with Mitchell Graham recovering from a hamstring injury to re-join the playing 23.

Tevita Koloamatangi could make his first Super Rugby appearance in 2016 having been sidelined for most of the season with injuries. Experienced All Black Tawera Kerr-Barlow is a real threat off the bench alongside Toni Pulu and Shaun Stevenson who complete the back cover.

Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Johan Bardoul, Glen Fisiiahi, Maama Vaipulu, Michael Allardice, Michael Leitch, James Tucker, Charlie Ngatai, Seta Tamanivalu, Andrew Horrell, Hiroshi Yamashita, Augustine Pulu (All Blacks Sevens) were all not considered for selection.


1. Kane Hames, 2. Nathan Harris, 3. Atu Moli, 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Taleni Seu (, 7. Sam Cane (cc) , 8. Tom Sanders, 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Stephen Donald , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown , 14. Sam McNicol , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi , 18. Mitchell Graham , 19. Tevita Koloamatangi , 20. Lachlan Boshier, 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Toni Pulu , 23. Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you


  1. Denver

    22nd July 2016 at 2:59 am

    Stop being critical of south african referee panels, they are the best anyway.local refs will contest all quarter final matches.excuses shouldn’t be made before games.refs are professionals! A kiwi probably wrote this article

    • Super Rugby

      22nd July 2016 at 8:25 am

      I think you will find that the referees aren’t mentioned in this article.

    • Rugaz

      23rd July 2016 at 11:36 am

      Lol being hurt about losing isn’t a very good look for you mate. Taste the bitter pill and accept the facts bro no New Zealander is complaining. Highlanders beat the Brumbies and the Hurricanes slaughtered the Sharks there is nothing to complain about for us Kiwi’s atm.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.