Eaton named in Hurricanes Semi-final team




Jason Eaton is still in doubt for the Hurricanes Semi final. He is named in the team but is bracketed and may be replaced later by Luke Andrews.

Eaton is however considered to be a likely starter after after limping off in the Hurricane’s vital 19-14 win over the Tahs in Sydney last Saturday night. That win won the Hurricanes the home Semi final.

Holwell returns to the No 10 jersey after he was ruled out of last week’s win over the Waratahs with a problem knee.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Holwell has been essential for the Hurricanes this year getting the penalty points when the backs weren’t scoring.

Jimmy Gopperth started last week and scored a try but he is relegated to the bench and will more than likely come on again as he does for the final quarter.

The Hurricanes team to play the Waratahs in the first semi-final of the 2006 Rebel Sport Super 14 at Westpac Stadium in Wellington at 7.35pm on Friday, 19 May is as follows:

1 John Schwalger
2 Andrew Hore
3 Neemia Tialata
4 Paul Tito
5 Jason Eaton/Luke Andrews
6 Jerry Collins
7 Chris Masoe
8 Rodney So’oialo (Captain)
9 Piri Weepu
10 David Holwell
11 Shannon Paku
12 Tana Umaga
13 Ma’a Nonu
14 Lome Fa’atau
15 Isaia Toeava

The reserves are as follows:

16 Luke Mahoney
17 Joe McDonnell
18 Luke Andrews/Ross Kennedy
19 Thomas Waldrom
20 Brendan Haami
21 Jimmy Gopperth
22 Tamati Ellison

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.