Eight new Pumas to face Sharks




Hooker Hannes Franklin, one of eight new faces in the Puma starting line-up, will lead his side against the Sharks in Witbank on Saturday.

Former Leopards flanker Jaco Bouwer will also run out for his new side for the first time wearing the number six jumper while last years’ captain Corn’ Steenkamp is still on the injury list.

Bouwer’s performance against the big Sharks names can be one of the highlights of the match.

Five former Eagles are in the first fifteen for the Pumas, including Franklin, outside centre Valentine van Wyk, wing Ashwin Scott, flanker Doppies le Roux and the macro tight head Ashley Buys.

Two former Valke, fullback Poerie van Rooyen and lock Marius Coetzer, will also represent the Pumas for the first time.

Coach Jimmy Stonehouse has awarded Rudi Vogt with the fly half duties while Tiaan Marx will serve as an impact player in the second half to keep an eye on Ruan Pienaar.

Brett Nel, from Border, will warm the bench, as well as the East Rander Juan Visser of Brakpan and another Eagle, Dwayne Smart.

Steenkamp, prop Dawie Steyn, lock Luhan Velthuizen and scrumhalves Shaun Venter and Hendrik van der Nest as well as three quarter Allister Kettledas were not considered due to injury.


Kick-off is at 17:00.

Pumas vs. Sharks:

Poerie van Rooyen; Hyron Thysse, Valentine van Wyk, Jovan Botha, Ashwin Scott; Rudi Vogt, Jacques Coetzee; Quinten Minnaar, Doppies le Roux, Jaco Bouwer, Marius Coetzer, Eduan van der Walt, Ashley Buys, Hannes Franklin (C), Sean Johnson.

Reserves: Torsten van Jaarsveld, Brett Nel, Johan van Heerden, Francois van Wyk, Martin Sithole, Tiaan Marx, Gawie Marx, Juan Visser, Christiaan Els, Dwayne Smart, Jiffy Lamprecht, Jannie van der Merwe.

Sapa –

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.