Esterhuyse makes Kavaliers debut against Stormers



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Namibia World Cup lock Nico Esterhuyse will make his debut for the Boland Cavaliers in a warmup match against the Stormers at Wellington on Saturday.

The towering player will boost the home side’s lineout play and is set for an interesting duel with Andries Bekker, who was the tallest player in last year’s Super 14 competition.

In the Stormers warm up match they will field an exciting backline with former Shark Gcobani Bobo leading the side from the centre position.

With Springbok Jean de Villiers still nursing his bicep injury, Dylan Des Fountain gets the change to partner Bobo. The Stormers also have plenty of firepower on the wing where Tonderai Chavanga and Sireli Naqelevuki are almost certain to test the Boland defence to the full.

In an interesting move coach Rassie Erasmus has decided to start Luke Watson at No 8 with Francois Louw and Schalk Burger covering the sides of the scrum.

Former Blue Bull Adriaan Fondse will start on the bench alongside Isma-eel Dollie, Justin Melck, Robbie Diack, Joe Pietersen, Schalk Brits, Schalk Ferreira, Pieter Myburgh, Corne Uys and Ruaan du Preez.

The match starts at 6pm with the Boland B side and the Western Province Vodacom XV showing their skills at 4.30pm.


Justin Peach, Alvin Hugo, Piet van Zyl, Hein Myburgh, Alshaun Bock, Lionel Cornelius, Neil Papier, Francois Prinsloo, Henley du Plessis, Zolani Mofu, Nico Esterhuyse, Coenie Basson, Andries Human, Pieter Wium, Jean Botha.
REPLACEMENTS: Clemen Lewis, Tommy Dixon, Frikkie Spies, Milroy Isaacs, Marnus Hugo, Jacquin Jansen, Kobus Meintjes, John Daniels, Monray Liebengerg.



Gio Aplon, Tonderai Chavanga, Dylan Des Fountain, Gobani Bobo (capt), Sireli Naqelevuki, Peter Grant, Bolla Conradie, Luke Watson, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Francois van der Merwe, Brok Harris, Tiaan Liebenberg, JD Moller.
REPLACEMENTS: Schalk Brits, Schalk Ferreira, Adriaan Fondse, Pieter Myburgh, Dewaldt Duvenage, Isma-eel Dollie, Corn’ Uys, Ruaan du Preez, Justin Melck, Robbie Diack, Joe Pietersen.

BOLAND B: Bronwin Julies, Riedewaan de Bruin, Deon Scholtz, Kobus Meintjes, Ashwil Peters, Earl Lewis, Ricardo Jones, Whalied Heyns, Wendell Wehr, Angelo Brinkhuis (capt), Kenny Africa, Cecil Kemp, Jacobie Adriaanse, JG Giliomee, Harry Vermaas.
REPLACEMENTS: Alwyn Liebenberg, Dario Chistolini, Divan Koch, Shaun Gardiner, Dustin Jinka, Adolf Stofberg, McAllister Korah, Dani’l Theron.

WP VODACOM: Hayden Groepes, Marvin Christians, Dabeon Draghoender, Morgan Newman, Zhahier Ryland, Ricardo Croy, Conrad Hoffman, Cameron Peverett, Jacques Engelbrecht, David Hendricks, Rito Hlungwani, George Earl, JC Kritzinger, Deon Fourie, Wicus Blaauw.
REPLACEMENTS: Simon Westraadt, Michael de Neuilly-Rice, Simo Mpungose, Conraad Britz, Alastair Siegelaar, Luke Titus, Morn’ Jooste, De Kock Steenkamp, WP Nel, Terry Jacobs.

Sapa –

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.