Super Rugby

Fainga’a at the double as Brumbies beat Waratahs




The Brumbies beat the Waratahs 19-13 thanks to a Folau Fainga’a’s brace and a  mauling clinic at GIO Stadium, Canberra.

Fainga’a scored twice, equalling Andrew Walker’s tally of five tries in successive Super Rugby games, becoming the second Brumby to record four in a row at home.

The 23-year-old hooker should have had a hat-trick, but referee Glen Jackson awarded a penalty try, on 54 minutes.

Daryl Gibson’s team could not get anything going through their main attacking weapons, Israel Folau and Kurtley Beale. The visitor’s pack had a torrid time, having two forwards yellow carded.

It was the Brumbies’ fifth win in six Super Rugby matches against the Waratahs; the Sydney side’s second Australian derby-day defeat in a row after winning seven on the bounce.

The home team, however, did not score a point while they held a 14-man advantage, allowing the Tahs to stay in the game.

Bernard Foley, searching for 1,000 Super Rugby points, missed three kicks at goal.

The stand-off hit the post twice, although Michael Hooper regathered and opened the scoring.

Fainga’a then dotted down twice, both from driving mauls, recording his fifth and sixth tries of the campaign.

Video Highlights: Brumbies versus Waratahs

His first was from the second series following a maul as the Brumbies took control in Canberra.

Alex Newsome finished off one of the Waratahs’ few flowing attacks thanks to Israel Folau’s chicken wing offload to reduce the deficit.

Foley missed the resulting conversion. Dan McKeller’s side was dominating in the tight phases.

They had the better of the scrums, and their lineout driving maul has become the most feared in the tournament.

The two-times former champions used to score from a distance; now they power over from close range like the famous Bulls team of a few years ago.

Waratahs strike early

It was the visitors who started stronger, winning a couple of penalties which allowed Foley to take an early shot at goal.

His kick rebounded off the right-hand post and into the arms of his skipper, who barged his way through the disjointed defenders to give the Tahs a fortuitous lead.

The Wallaby stand-off’s conversion attempt hit the same post, minutes later.

From there on out, the McKeller’s team grew into the game, making the least errors and capitalising on the Waratahs’ ill-discipline.

Devasting driving maul

When the Brumbies get a penalty, they rarely kick for posts, preferring to go with their lineout juggernaut.

Who would blame them? They have scored from the set-piece in every match this season.

In the space of nine minutes, the Brumbies scored twice to open up a one-score advantage.

Sekope Kepu was sin-binned for a foul on Lachlan McCaffrey. The number eight who was wreaking havoc at the breakdown. But Kepu’s card did not cost New South Wales as they held firm before the break.

Much like the first half, both teams scored in quick succession of each other. Newsome went over after Folau’s slick hands.

The Brumbies were awarded seven for the maul infringement five minutes later. Harry Johnson-Holmes was yellow carded and sent to the naughty step.

But the home side could not punish their guests. Foley finally found his radar, but it was too late, the game was lost.

Final Score: Brumbies 19 (12) Waratahs 13 (5)


Tries – Fainga’a (2), Penalty try
Pen –
Con – Lealiifano
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Hooper, Newsome
Pen – Foley
Con –
Drop –
Cards – Kepu (Yellow, 35′), Johnson-Holmes (Yellow, 54′)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1: Jordan way
Assistant Ref 2: Amy Perrett
TMO: James Leckie


Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Lausii Taliauli, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valentini, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio.

Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 James Slipper, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Murray Douglas, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Jordan Jackson-hope, 23 Mack Hansen.

Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Israel Folau, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes.

Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Ryan McCauley, 20 Lachlan Swinton, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Cameron Clark.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.