Super Rugby

Foley returns for Waratahs against Rebels




Waratahs Super Rugby head coach Daryl Gibson has named Bernard Foley in his starting team to play the Rebels in Melbourne in the Weary Dunlop Shield clash.

Foley has been sidelined for the first five weeks while going through the return to play concussion protocols after a head knock during the trial game against the Highlanders.

After earning his first NSW Waratahs cap in round three, Jake Gordon’s good form will see him start at scrumhalf, with Jed Holloway and Ned Hanigan also set to start after returning from injury in round four.

“For Jake it is an opportunity as a promising young player and he deserves a chance”, said Gibson.

“Jake’s got an eye for a gap, he’s a strong runner, he plays a lot on instincts and he is a good kicker of the ball.

“Ned came on and made a nice impact (last week). He has always been past his age group, (and at number) 6 or 4 he is a very versatile player. I like what he brings to the team… He has got immense ability and it is a good opportunity on a bigger stage to really cement himself.”

Further changes to positions will see Israel Folau back in the number 15 jersey, with Andrew Kellaway on the wing and David Horwitz starting in the centres alongside veteran Rob Horne.

Head Coach Daryl Gibson said he hopes the changes to will get the Tahs playing the style of rugby their eager to play.

“We need to get our combinations clicking. Up until now we have been far too inconsistent and the mistakes have been on us to fix.

“We are pleased to have Bernard back, his absence has certainly been felt in those first four rounds.

“The short turn around I think has been good for us this week on the back of Saturday night’s loss. The team came in Monday eager to do what needs to be done to get us out where we are right now.

“The Melbourne Rebels won’t be an easy side to face at home and certainly they were unlucky to get the loss they did last week. They will be as eager as we are to get the win on Friday night,” said Gibson.


1.Tom Robertson, 2 .Tolu Latu, 3. Sekope Kepu, 4 .Dean Mumm, 5. Will Skelton, 6. Ned Hanigan, 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Jed Holloway, 9 . Jake Gordon, 10. Bernard Foley, 11. Andrew Kellaway, 12. David Horwitz, 13 .Rob Horne, 14..Reece Robinson, 15.Israel Folau

Replacements : 16.Damien Fitzpatrick,17.Paddy Ryan,18.David Lolohea,19.David McDuling,20.Michael Wells,21.Nick Phipps,22.Cam Clark,23.Taqele Naiyaravoro

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.