Super Rugby

Force make four changes for Sunwolves


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Western Force head coach Michael Foley has named a Super Rugby team with four changes for this Saturday’s match against the e Sunwolves at Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium in Tokyo.

The most notable change in the Force’s starting line up is Kyle Godwin who will make his first start since Round One when the Force played the Rebels in Melbourne.

Godwin returns to the starting team at full fitness after being named on the bench for the last three rounds as he built back to top condition after injuring his knee in the Round One match.

The talented 23-year-old was strong off the bench against the Bulls last week getting the Force backline on the front foot and scoring a try in the 80th minute and will look to carry that form into Saturday’s contest.

In the other changes to the starting line-up Guy Millar comes into the side at tighthead, Ross Haylett-Petty comes into the second row while Byrnard Stander will start at blindside flanker.

Michael Foley said the side is looking forward to opportunity they have in front of them in Tokyo.

“Obviously there’s always disappointment after a loss, but the team is more motivated than ever to respond this weekend.”

“There’s a sense of excitement about the chance to play in Tokyo and we feel we have an opportunity to pick up some wins towards the back end of the season if we attack each game for the 80 minutes without fear.”

In the front row Francois van Wyk and Harry Scoble will pack down at loosehead prop and hooker respectively with Millar getting his first run-on start since Round Two.

Adam Coleman will again start in the second row and link up with young gun Ross Haylett-Petty who has been promoted to the starting line-up after a strong showing off the bench last week.

In the only change to the backrow Stander will wear the No.6 jersey while the experienced duo of Matt Hodgson and Ben McCalman will look to take the battle up to the Sunwolves forward pack with trademark physicality in contact and aggression at the breakdown.

The halves remain unchanged with Alby Mathewson to again supply Ian Prior with quality service after Prior put in a solid performance in his first start at fly half for the season last week.

In the centres Godwin is a welcome inclusion in the No.12 jersey while Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea will look to utilise his hard ball running ability to exploit any gaps in the Sunwolves line as he moves to outside centre.

The back three remains unchanged with Luke Morahan and Marcel Brache manning the wings while Dane Haylett-Petty will command the backline to round out the starting side

Coming off the bench, Angus Cottrell, Tetera Faulkner and Steve Mafi will look to make their presence felt when called upon, while Peter Grant will make his return after overcoming an eye injury suffered in Round Nine

Western Force

1 Francois Van Wyk, 2 Harry Scoble, 3 Guy Millar, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 5 Adam Coleman, 6 Byrnard Stander, 7 Matt Hodgson ©, 8 Ben McCalman, 9 Alby Mathewson, 10 Ian Prior, 11 Luke Morahan, 12 Kyle Godwin, 13 Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea, 14 Marcel Brache, 15 Dane Haylett – Petty,

Replacements : 16 Anaru Rangi, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Sitiveni (Stevie) Mafi, 20 Angus Cottrell, 21 Ryan Louwrens, 22 Peter Grant, 23 Semisi Masirewa

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.