Super Rugby

Force make two changes for the Highlanders



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Western Force head coach Michael Foley has named a team with two changes to face the current Super Rugby champions the Highlanders in Dunedin.

Wallaby Ben McCalman comes back into the fold at No. 8 and Luke Morahan returns to the right wing, after missing the first two games of the New Zealand tour with a foot injury.

Head Coach Foley says a full ground defensive effort is needed against the Super Rugby champions.

“The Highlanders play tough, smart rugby. Last week, they had one line break, but scored 4 tries, which is an indicator of how they vary their attack with ball in hand and kicking,” he said.

“The key for us is to consistently apply pressure across 80 minutes.”

“We asked good questions in the first half last week and created some good scoring opportunities, but we need to ensure we put ourselves in a position to keep attacking for the full game.”

An unchanged front row will look to carry momentum from a solid set piece performance last week when they lock horns with a powerful Highlanders front row.

Ross Haylett-Petty and Adam Coleman will again partner in the second row, after good performances from both men.

While Ben McCalman comes back in to the backrow alongside skipper Matt Hodgson and Angus Cottrell will start at blindside flanker.

Alby Mathewson will start at scrumhalf after one of his strongest performances of the year last weekend and veteran Peter Grant will martial the troops at flyhalf.

Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea will again start at inside centre and Ben Tapuai will look to continue his good form in the number 13 jersey.

Electrifying winger Luke Morahan races back into the team and will be keen to pick up where he left off against the Brumbies. Semisi Masirewa will man the left wing after a strong match in attack and Dane Haylett-Petty rounds out the starting XV.

Big man Steve Mafi will look to bring some energy from the bench, while Future Force product Richard Hardwick is set to make his Super Rugby debut.

Ryan Louwrens will again come off the bench and hope to play his second match of the season. Ian Prior was strong off the bench last week and will look to do the same again, while Albert Nikoro will want to spark the attack if given the opportunity.

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Heath Tessmann , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Ross Haylett-Petty , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Angus Cottrell , 7. Matt Hodgson (C) , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Peter Grant , 11. Semisi Masirewa , 12. Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea , 13. Ben Tapuai , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Nathan Charles , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Jermaine Ainsley , 19. Sitiveni (Steve) Mafi , 20. Richard Hardwick , 21. Ryan Louwrens , 22. Ian Prior , 23. Albert Nikoro

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.