Force name squad to face Hurricanes




Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Western Force begin their Super Rugby pre-season this week on Wednesday
when they take on 2015 Super Rugby finalists the Hurricanes in the first of
their two pre-season matches

The Force have travelled to Gosford on the Central Coast to take on the ‘Canes’,
in what should be a high quality fixture, with a strong 28-man squad named for
the clash.

New recruits Jono Lance, Peter Grant and Semisi Masirewa are all set to play
in Force blue for the first time, while Brynard Stander (shoulder) and Ammon
Matuauto (knee) will make their returns from long-term injuries.

The pre-season match will also be the first in blue for young up-an-coming players
Jermaine Ainsley (Nedlands), Richard Hardwick (UWA) and Maalonga Konelio (Joondalup
Brothers). All three players coming through the ranks after strong seasons for
the Perth Spirit in the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC) last year.

The squad once again boasts a number of locally-produced players in Dane and
Ross Haylett-Petty, Kyle Godwin, scrumhalf Ryan Louwrens, flanker Kane Koteka
and back rower Richard Hardwick.

Club stalwart Pek Cowan will captain the side, with Matt Hodgson unavailable
to play and Heath Tessmann will take over the captaincy if and when Cowan is

The Hurricanes squad will also host a large number of debutants, with nine
players pulling on the Hurricanes jersey for the very first time. Loose forward
Brad Shields will captain the side in the absence of Dane Coles and TJ Perenara,
as the 26-man squad look to get their season off to a good start.

2016 Super Rugby – Pre-Season,
Western Force v Wellington Hurricanes,
Central Coast Stadium, Gosford,
Wednesday, 3 February 2016,
Kick-off: 6.50pm (AEST)

Western Force (Team):

1. Pek Cowan (C), 2. Nathan Charles, 3. Guy Millar, 4. Steve Mafi, 5. Adam
Coleman, 6. Brynard Stander, 7. Chris Alcock, 8. Angus Cottrell, 9. Ian Prior,
10. Peter Grant, 11. Albert Nikoro, 12. Kyle Godwin, 13. Marcel Brache, 14.
Luke Morahan, 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

16. Heath Tessmann,
17. Chris Heiberg,
18. Jermaine Ainsley,
19. Rory Walton,
20. Ross Haylett-Petty,
21. Richard Hardwick,
22. Kane Koteka,
23. Ryan Louwrens,
24. Jono Lance,
25. Onehunga Havili,
26. Ammon Matuauto,
27. Semisi Masirewa,
28. Maalonga Konelio

Hurricanes (Squad):

Jason Woodward, Matt Proctor, Pita Ahki, Willis Halaholo, Wes Goosen, Otere
Black, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Blade Thomson, Callum Gibbins, Brad Shields (c),
Mark Abbott, Vaea Fifita, Jeff Toomaga-Allen,Motu Matu’u, Reg Goodes, Leni Apisai,
Loni Uhila, Ben May, Hisa Sasagi, Chris Eves, Michael Fatialofa, James Blackwell,
Tony Lamborn, Frae Wilson, Malo Tuitama, Peter Umaga-Jensen.,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.