Super Rugby

Force stars return to face Highlanders



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Western Force Super Rugby head coach Dave Wessels has named his team to play the Highlanders in Perth this weekend and has been able to welcome back a host of players.

Tatafu Polota-Nau returns as the starting hooker jersey after missing the Jaguares match last week. Jermaine Ainsley will start at tighthead after recovering from an elbow injury he suffered against the Crusaders in Round Five.

Brynard Stander is the only change in the backrow, as the ferocious ball runner is set to start at openside flank

Veteran Peter Grant will start at flyhalf after an impressive performance in Buenos Aires last week. Jono Lance will miss the game with an injured hand.

Inside centre Bill Meakes will captain the club for the first time and becomes the 12th man to do so, as he lines up next to centre partner Curtis Rona.

In the back three, Luke Morahan returns from a fractured cheekbone and will start at fullback.

In the reserves Anaru Rangi and Tetera Faulkner will look to bring plenty of impact off the bench, along with locks Lewis Carmichael and Matt Philip who makes his return from an injured foot. Michael Ruru is the last inclusion in the reserves, returning from an ankle injury he suffered in Round 7 against the Kings.

Western Force Head Coach says the endeavour shown in Argentina was pleasing, and just reward after a tough performance, but his side will need to be back on task against an in-form Highlanders side.

“Our performance in Argentina was built on the back of our intensity in our preparation. Our challenge is to match that again this week. We’re excited to be back at home in front of the Sea of Blue.”


Pek Cowan,Tatafu Polota-Nau,Jermaine Ainsley,Richie Arnold,Adam Coleman,Ross Haylett-Petty,Brynard Stander,Richard Hardwick,Ian Prior,Peter Grant,Alex Newsome,Bill Meakes (C),Curtis Rona,Semisi Masirewa,Luke Morahan

Replacements:,Anaru Rangi,Francois van Wyk,Tetera Faulkner,Matt Philip,Lewis Carmichael, Isireli Naisarani,Michael Ruru,James Verity-Amm

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.