Super Rugby

Force v Waratahs Super Rugby Preview Rd.9




The third Super Rugby match on Saturday is another derby clash and is between the Western Force and the Waratahs in Perth.

Neither team will be happy with their form this season and as we hit the half way mark they both need a victory in this match if they are to have any chance of reaching the play offs.

The pressure is on the Waratahs a lot more than the Force as they are a lot further behind and probably weren’t expected to make the knock out stages. The Waratahs were expected to make the play offs but under the new structure and with the form of the New Zealand teams it is going to be very difficult for them to make the play offs.

The Brumbies are the favourites to win the Australian Conference which means that the Waratahs have to catch and overtake the Rebels and then do the same to either the Hurricanes or the Highlanders if they are make the play offs.

Fortunately for the Waratahs they have been boosted this week by the return of two of their internationals. Rob Horne and Tatafu Polota-Nau both return to the side while David Dennis is named in the side to win his 100th Super Rugby cap.

These three are the only change to the side that lost 20-26 to the Brumbies last week.

The Force had a bye last week and in their last outing they almost upset the Crusaders. Eventually the Crusaders snatched a one point win but the Perth side will have taken confidence from that result. They will also take confidence from the fact they they beat the Waratahs twice last year. In face the last three matches between the teams have all been won by the Force.

The Force have played the Waratahs 15 times in Super Rugby and they have won 5 and drawn one. This gives them a record of winning 33% of their matches against the Waratahs.

The Force have have played the Waratahs 8 times in Perth and they have won two and lost six. This gives them a record of winning 25% of their matches. The average score when these team play in Perth is Force 14 Waratahs 22. Crucially though the Force have won the last two matches in the West Australian city.

As the Force pushed the Crusaders so close last time out coach Michael Foley has kept changes to a minimum. Francois van Wyk comes into the side as loosehead prop to replace the injured Pek Cowan.

In the only other change Marcel Brache returns to man the right wing replacing Luke Morahan who misses the contest with soreness.

Even though the Force have home advantage and a solid recent record against the Waratahs the Sydney side will be hungry for this. They know that another loss could end their title hopes. They need a win this week as they tour South Africa next week for two matches and then have the Crusaders at home.

The Bookies have given the Force a 5 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Waratahs will be the hungrier side in this and they should win by four.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 5.

Average score: Force 16 Waratahs 21

Last five results
09 May 2015 Force v Waratahs 18-11 Perth
15 Feb 2015 Force v Waratahs 25-13 Sydney
12 Apr 2014 Force v Waratahs 28-16 Perth
23 Feb 2014 Force v Waratahs 21-43 Sydney
09 Jun 2013 Force v Waratahs 13-28 Perth

Force’s overall record against the Waratahs
Played 15, Wins 5 , Losses 9 , Draws 1

Match No.67: Force v Waratahs
Date : Saturday 23 April 2016
Venue : NIB Stadium, Perth
Kick Off local: 17:45 local
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1:Will Houston
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO : Peter Marshall


Western Force

1. Francois van Wyk , 2. Heath Tessmann , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sitiveni (Steve) Mafi , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Angus Cottrell , 7. Matt Hodgson (C) , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Peter Grant , 11. Semisi Masirewa , 12. Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea , 13. Ben Tapuai , 14. Marcel Brache , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements: 16. Harry Scoble , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Jermaine Ainsley , 19. Rory Walton , 20. Brynard Stander , 21. Ryan Louwrens , 22. Kyle Godwin , 23. Albert Nikoro


1. Paddy Ryan ,2. Hugh Roach,3. Tom Robertson ,4. David Dennis ,5. Will Skelton ,6. Jack Dempsey ,7. Michael Hooper (C)8. Jed Holloway,9. Nick Phipps,10. Bernard Foley ,11. Rob Horne ,12. Kurtley Beale ,13. Israel Folau ,14. Reece Robinson,15. Andrew Kellaway,

Replacements : 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau ,17. Jeremy Tilse ,18. Angus Ta’avao,19. Dean Mumm ,20. Wycliff Palu ,21. Matt Lucas,22. David Horwitz ,23. Matt Carraro

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.