Super 14 Rugby

Force v Waratahs – Teams, times and weather


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The HSBC Waratahs are aiming for three wins in a row for the first time this season when they take on the Western Force at Subiaco Oval tomorrow night.

The Super 14 week nine blockbuster will also see the Waratahs looking to keep their unbeaten record against the Force intact, with a potential top four spot in the offing for whichever side comes out on top.

After a warm day in Perth which is expected to peak at 28C, temperatures are expected to drop to around 21C by kick-off, setting the scene for a spanking encounter between the top two Aussie sides.

Eighteen-year-old Rob Horne makes his starting debut for the Waratahs in the clash, while reserve back Matt Carraro is due to make his first NSW appearance after four caps with the Brumbies in 2007.

‘The scene is set for one hell of a match,’ said HSBC Waratahs Head Coach Ewen McKenzie.

‘We had a good run at Subiaco on Friday afternoon and the guys know they need to reproduce the quality of last week’s performance against the Blues.

‘Tactics will be important.’

The match kicks off at 9:05pm AEST (7:05pm AWST), with LIVE coverage on Fox Sports 3 beginning with the pre-match show from 8:30pm AEST.

2008 SUPER 14 ‘ WEEK 9

Saturday, 12 April 2008 (Kick-off 7:05pm AWST, 9:05pm AEST)
Subiaco Oval, Perth
Referee: Brett Bowden (AUS)
Touch Judges: Paul Marks (AUS) & James Scholtens (AUS)

1. Pek Cowan
2. Tai McIsaac
3. Troy Takiari
4. Tom Hockings
5. Nathan Sharpe [c]
6. Scott Fava
7. David Pocock
8. Richard Brown
9. Chris O’Young
10. Matt Giteau [vc]
11. Drew Mitchell
12. Scott Staniforth
13. Ryan Cross
14. Nick Cummins
15. Cameron Shepherd
16. Luke Holmes
17. AJ Whalley
18. Sam Wykes
19. Matt Hodgson
20. James Stannard
21. Lachlan MacKay
22. Haig Sare


1. Benn Robinson
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau
3. Matt Dunning
4. Will Caldwell
5. Dan Vickerman
6. Dean Mumm
7. Phil Waugh [c]
8. Wycliff Palu
9. Luke Burgess
10. Kurtley Beale
11. Lote Tuqiri
12. Tom Carter
13. Rob Horne*
14. Lachie Turner
15. Sam Norton-Knight
16. Adam Freier
17. Al Baxter
18. David Lyons
19. Beau Robinson
20. Brett Sheehan
21. Matt Carraro^
22. Alfi Mafi
* Super Rugby starting debut

^ NSW Debut (if used)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.