Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Western Force in Perth




The Brumbies have won 79% of their Super Rugby matches against the Western Force (19/24), including their last 13 games; it’s their second-best win-rate against any team they have faced at least 10 times (80% v Cats).

The Western Force will be aiming for back-to-back wins in Super Rugby for the first time since April 2021, following their 20-18 victory against Fijian Drua (Round 5, 2022 Super Rugby Pacific).

  • The Brumbies have won each of their five matches in Super Rugby Pacific; a sixth consecutive victory would be their best start to a season in the history of Super Rugby.
  • The Western Force have lost their last three Super Rugby matches in Western Australia, after winning four of their six games in their home state prior (L2).
  • The Brumbies have won their last four Super Rugby matches on the bounce against fellow Australian teams; the last time they enjoyed a longer winning run in Australian derbies in the competition was a nine-match span from June 2019 to August 2020.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway in Perth.

2.00: TRY! Sefo Kautai wins a turnover after a stray pass by Kane Koteka. The Brumbies go through the hands to Ryan Lonergan to open the scoring. 0-5

3.00: CONVERSION! The scrumhalf converts his try. 0-7

6.00: PENALTY! Ian Prior puts the Force on the board. 3-7

7.00: Brynard Stander drops the restart into touch inside his 22.

8.00: TRY! The Brumbies go 11-phases from the lineout before Western Force run out of defenders for Andy Muirhead to score his 16th Super Rugby try. 0-12

10.00: MISS! Lonergan shaves the wrong side of the post. 0-12

12.00: The speed of the recycled ball at the breakdown by the Brumbies, is causing the Force all matter of problems. Another sustained attack ends with a penalty under the host’s posts.

13.00: PENALTY! Lonergan increases his side’s lead. 3-15

16.00: Jeremy Thrush wins an important turnover after Tom Banks is isolated, but the ball is passed into touch.

18.00: TRY! The Brumbies go coast-to-coast thanks to Len Ikitau’s wonder bamboozling of Kyle Godwin and Jeremy Thrush. Ikitau raced from his line to the oppostiion’s 10m before sending Banks away untouched in the corner. 3-20

20.00: MISS! The kick is well wide. 3-20

25.00: A promising attack ends when the Brumbies force a turnover inside their 22.

27.00: Dan McKellar’s well-oiled machine continue to do the right things in the right areas, while Tim Sampson’s charges do anything but.

28.00: NO TRY! Toni Pulu chases Jake Strachan’s grubber, collects and bounces Banks, although, he drops the ball as he attempts to ground the ball.

29.00: RED CARD! PENALTY TRY! Banks is off for a dangerous hit on Pulu, the hosts are also awarded a penalty try. 10-20

31.00: TRY! It’s a stunning turnaround in Perth. Manasa Mataele slipped two tackles on the sideline before putting Kyle Godwin away for his 16th Super Rugby try. 15-20

32.00: CONVERSION! Prior adds the extras. 17-20

33.00: Thrush cannot take the restart, the lock drops the ball into Tim Anstee’s path but Antstee kncoks-on inside his 22. that’s two mistakes from kickoffs.

34.00: TRY! Brilliant from the Brumbies to hit back. Jake McIntyre combined with Len Ikitau, who sent Muirhead in for his brace with a little chicke-wing pass; bamboozled three defenders to allow the winger to score his 17th SR try. 17-25

35.00: CONVERSION! Lonergan adds the extras. 17-27

38.00: TRY! Jake Strachan charges down ryan Lonergan’s clearance, collects the bouncing ball, and fends off Lachlan Lonergan to score under the posts. 22-27

39.00: CONVERSION! Prior adds his second. 24-27

41.00: The Brumbies opt for a lineout to end the first half, but nothing comes of the attack.

The halftime score was Western Force 24 Brumbies 27

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway down under.

44.00: TRY! Manasa Mataele intercepts Len Ikitau’s pass, and races 80 metres down the sideline to put the home team ahead. 29-27

46.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 31-27

48.00: TRY! Nick Frost barges over from close range to put the Brumbies back on top. 31-32

50.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 31-34

54.00: HAT-TRICK! Muirhead strolls in for his third try of the night. 31-39

56.00: MISS! The conversion is wide. 31-39

60.00: TRY! Manasa Mataele bounces Irae Simone to score his 20th Super rugby try under the posts. 36-39

61.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 38-39

65.00: Lots of handling errors creeping back in as both teams look to spread the ball artound the paddock.

69.00: Strachan is pinged for a high tackle on Muirhead, which allows the Brumbies time to breathe.

72.00: The Force are finishing strong, but that is expected after playing with an extra player for 20 minutes.

75.00: Another attack stalls for the Force, who went 10 phases before a knock on near the Brumbies’ 22.

78.00: Brumbies have an attcking lineout on the Force’s 22.

80.00: The visitors go through a long series of pick-and-drives into the 22 before conceding a penalty to allow the Force one last shot.

81.00: The Brumbies steal the lineout, and the ball rolls into touch.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Western Force 38 (24) Brumbies 39 (27)


Western Force
Tries – Penalty try, Godwin, Strachan, Mataele (2)
Pen – Prior
Con – Prior (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R. Lonergan, Muirhead (3), Banks, Frost
Pen – R. Lonergan
Con – R. Lonergan (3)
Drop –
Cards – Banks (Red, 29′)

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 2: Jordan Kaminski
TMO: Kyle Burnett


Western Force: 15 Jake Strachan, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Bayley Kuenzle, 11 Manasa Mataele, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Brynard Stander, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Fergus Lee-Warner, 5 Izack Rodda, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u (captain), 1 Harrison Lloyd

Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Bo Abra, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Tim Anstee, 20 Ollie Callan, 21 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, 22 Reesjan Pasitoa, 23 Byron Ralston

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Rod Iona, 9 Ryan Lonergan (captain), 8 Pete Samu, 7 Jahrome Brown, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Nick Frost, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Sefo Kautai, 2 Lachlan Lonergan, 1 Scott Sio

16 Billy Pollard, 17 Fred Kaihea, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Tom Hooper, 20 Rory Scott, 21 Lachie Albert, 22 Hudson Creighton, 23 Jesse Mogg

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.