Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Crusaders beat Western Force in Perth

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

The Crusaders have won six of their last seven Super Rugby matches against the Western Force (L1), including their last four in succession – their longest winning run against the Aussies in the history of the competition.

The Crusaders won their recent Super Rugby away match against the Western Force (20-19, Rd 7 2016).

Players to watch

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway in Perth

3.00: The Crusaders win a free kick from a scrum.

4.00: Oh dear, Richie Mo’unga starts running without taping the ball giving the Force an attacking scrum inside the visitor’s 22.

6.00: PENALTY! An early engagement allows Jake Strachan to open the scoring. 3-0

9.00: a couple of handling errors by each side ends with the hosts scrumming on halfway.

11.00: Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, like Nic White for the Brumbies, kicks a raking grubber for a 50/22.

12.00: TRY! Byron Ralston’s mistake leads to the Crusaders taking a quick-tap penalty that ends in five. Leicester Fainga’anuku’s angled run and swivel sees him dot down for his 14th Super Rugby try. 3-5

13.00: MISS! Richie Mo’unga misses his conversion. 3-5

15.00: Kyle Godwin picks up Fainga’anuku’s dropped pass, and begins a counter-attack into the Crusaders’ 22.

16.00: TRY! The Force goes through the phases before Strachan latches onto Kyle Godwin’s grubber and beats Fainga’anuku to the ball to score. 8-5

17.00: MISS! Strachan cannot convert his try. 8-5

20.00: This is an entertaining match at HBF Park. The Force is looking dangerous on the counter-attack, and the Crusaders are conceding needless penalties as the hosts keep up the intensity.

22.00: The Force gets the cleanout wrong at the breakdown, and they lose a second good opportunity from an attacking lineout on the Saders’ line. You just know that it is going to be costly.

25.00: A lot of handling errors from the Kiwis, but the Aussies are not punishing their guests.

27.00: Western Force gets another turnover to clear the danger near their 22. It’s a bit of a stop-start affair in Perth, with both teams making a lot of mistakes.

28.00: Crusaders have an attacking scrum on the Force’s try line.

28.00: TRY! Richie Mo’unga dances around Byron Ralston before sucking in Strachan. Mo’unga draws the fullback to put Fainga’anuku away for a spectacular one-handed diving finish by the flag.

30.00: MISS! Mo’unga cannot convert. 8-10

32.00: Crusaders have a lineout inside the opposition’s 22 after a poor clearance.

33.00: Excellent work by the forwards at the breakdown to win a penalty for the hosts.

36.00: PENALTY! Mo’unga finds his radar. 8-13

38.00: Fainga’anuku is tackled out near the flag by Byron Ralston, but the Saders have a scrum.

39.00: The home team’s supporters boo the ref after he calls the force for offside on their try line.

40.00: TRY! Bryn Hall goes left from the centrefield scrum to Will Jordan. Jordan draws the defender before floating a long cutout pass to Fainga’anuku for the winger’s hat-trick. 8-18

42.00: MISS! The kick is well wide. 8-18

The halftime score was Western Force 8 Crusaders 18

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway down under.

44.00: TRY! Issak Fines-Leleiwasa goes close. Fergus Lee-Warner picks up the ball and snipes around the base of the ruck to score. 13-18

45.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 15-18

47.00: TRY! Pablo Matera takes Bryn Hall’s flat pass and goes through three defenders to score next to the poles. 15-23

47.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 15-25

49.00: TRY! Bridge combined with Cullen Grace to set up a ruck on the try line. Hall recycled quickly to Jordan, who cut inisde the flatfooted Andrew Ready to score. 15-30

51.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 15-32

54.00: Godwin looks to have knocked on, but the ref missed the error. The Force plays on before winning a penalty in the 22.

56.00: The Force botch another two attacking lineouts.

59.00: TRY! Jordan, like a thief in the night, chases Bridge’s chip-kick and plucks the ball away from the covering Ralston and Godwin, and steals in for a brace. 15-37

60.00: CONVERSION! the kick is good. 15-39

64.00: The Force have not been without their chances; however, they cannot break through the white wall.

69.00: TRY! Ethan Blackadder’s linebreak sets up Jordan for his treble! 15-44

71.00: CONVERSION! The kick is once again good. 15-46

76.00: Jordan almost has four, but he has the ball knocked out his hand inside the 22.

78.00: NO TRY! Chay Fihaki’s worldy of a finish is chalked off by the TMO. 15-46

80.00: Crusaders have a lineout on the home team’s 5m.

81.00: TRY! George Bell breaks off a rolling maul and crashes over the whitewash to bring up the half-century. 15-51



To refresh this page, click HERELive In-Play Betting.

The final score is Force 15 (8) Crusaders 53 (18)


Tries – Strachan, Lee-Warner
Pen – Strachan
Con – Strachan
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Fainga’anuku (3), Matera, Jordan (3), Bell
Pen – Mo’unga
Con – Mo’unga (5)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jordan Way
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: Matt Kellahan
TMO: Brett Cronan


Western Force: 15 Jake Strachan, 14 Byron Ralston, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Bayley Kuenzle (captain), 11 Reece Tapine, 10 Reesjan Pasitoa, 9 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, 8 Tim Anstee, 7 Ollie Callan, 6 Fergus Lee-Warner, 5 Izack Rodda, 4 Ryan McCauley, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Andrew Ready, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Feleti Kaitu’u, 17 Angus Wagner, 18 Bo Abra, 19 Jeremy Thrush, 20 Alex Masibaka, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Jake McIntyre, 23 Grason Makara.

Crusaders: 15 Will Jordan, 14 George Bridge, 13 Braydon Ennor, 12 David Havili (captain), 11 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Pablo Matera 7 Sione Havili Talitui, 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Cullen Grace, 3 Fletcher Newell, 2 Ricky Jackson, 1 Tamaiti Williams.

Replacements: 16 George Bell, 17 Seb Calder, 18 George Bower, 19 Liam Hallam-Eames, 20 Tom Christie, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Fergus Burke, 23 Chay Fihaki.

Exit mobile version