Super Rugby

Force thump Waratahs in Perth



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Western Force host the New South Wales in their final round of matches, which is also both team’s last match this season.

Neither team has qualified for the knockout stages so they will not be playing next weekend.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: BEEP! BEEP! We are underway in Perth at nib Stadium. The game gets on the way and right from the start the Force score through Alex Newsome. Wow!

2.00: The conversion is good by Peter Grant: 7-0 

7.00: PENALTY! Bernard Foley gets his side on the board: 7-3

11.00: YELLOW CARD! Jake Gordon is in the bin. The Force have been camped inside the Tahs’ half, forcing them into silly penalties. Eventually, referee Nic Berry goes to his pocket.

13.00: TRY Tatafu Polota-Nau! The Force go to their driving maul and bulldoze their way over the Waratahs’ try line. That was superb mauling by the home team: 12-3

14.00: The conversion goes over: 14-3

16.00: The Waratahs get inside Force territory, but again, they lose the ball and conceded their pressure.

17.00: The force win the penalty and Grant sticks the ball near the 22.

18.00: Somehow, the Tahs survive. they combated the Force’s maul and, after some phases of battering, the home team lose the forward.

20.00: Penalty for collapsing by Tetera Faulkner. Israel Folau calls for the tee and will attempt a kick from 52 metres and straight in front.

21.00: MISS! The Wallaby fullback does not have the distance: 14-3

22.00: Folau takes a high ball, under pressure, sets up a ruck and the Force infringe. A scuffle breaks out between the two teams, but it’s only handbags.

27.00: The Waratahs go eight phases from a centre filed scrum inside the Force’s 22. Eventually, the ball is lost, but the visitors get the penalty for offsides; the third in a row by the home team. Foley will kick at goal.

28.00: PENALTY! Foley reduces the deficit to eight points: 14-6

30.00: The Force weather the storm and clear their lines with a long 22 drop out.

31.00: WHAT A KICK by Michael Ruru! The scrumhalf receives the ball inside his own half and kicks a low, flat punt, which rolls out inside the Tahs’ 22.

33.00: The game is littered with penalties and handling errors. Both sides are focused on playing inside the other’s territory. Another knock on gives the visitors the ball.

35.00: TRY Marcel Brache! A mix-up at the back between three Tahs’ defenders lets the flyer in for the try. He landed on the rolling ball and momentum carried him over the try line: 19-6

36.00: The conversion is wide by Grant: 19-6

39.00: TRY Jono Lance! A turnover is won by the Force inside their 22. Polota-Nau scoops up the loose ball and plays Curtis Rona to his right. Rona sets off before offloading to Lance, who then runs 60 metres to score in the corner: 24-6

40.00: Grant slots the touchline conversion: 26-6

The half-time score was Force 26 Waratahs 6

41.00: BEEP! BEEP! We are back underway in Perth. The restart leads to a mass brawl. Dean Mumm rushed in to help a team mate, then everyone got involved. The rain is really pelting down now.

43.00: The force go to their driving maul, but this time, the Waratahs keep them out with a good counter-defence and turn the ball over for a scrum.

44.00: TRY Matt Hodgson! Michael Ruru pressures Michael Wells at the base of the Waratahs’ scrum. the No 8 is stripped of the ball and all Hodgson has to do, is just has to put downward pressure on the loose egg as it rolls over the in-goal area: 31-6

45.00: Lance can’t add the two points, however, this game is almost done: 31-6

50.00: The Force is happy to let the Waratahs have the ball; they are waiting to pounce on any more mistakes that might come from their opponents, especially, when they try to run out from their own half.

54.00: With the conditions deteriorating, both front rows are starting to battle with the slippery surface. The ground is starting to cut up underfoot and the scrums are being reset, multiple times.

57.00: After all that, the Tahs are pinged for a loose forward not binding. Can you believe it?

58.00: MISS! the ball hits the upright, but the Force regather and launch an attack, which eventually leads to another penalty, this time, right in front.

59.00: PENALTY! Lance extends his team’s lead to four converted tries: 34-6

61.00: both benches are being emptied, but it is the Sydney men who have it all to do in the last quarter.

64.00: The Perth team get another penalty and Grant clears. The Tahs have been poor in every department.

70.00: PENALTY! Lance extends his team’s lead to five scores: game over! 37-6

74.00: The Tahs kick to the corner after another penalty; they need a try for some respectability.

75.00: TRY Hugh Roach! The reserve hooker takes Michael Hooper’s pass and scores in the corner: 37-11

76.00: The conversion is wide: 37-11

79.00: The clock is ticking down on these two teams’ season. The Force have possession inside the Waratahs’ 22. One last attack, possibly?

80.00: The Force gets the penalty and Lance will kick at goal.

81.00: PENALTY! Hodgson adds the final dagger to the Tahs and the Force’s players go wild: Scenes at the nib Stadium, for what could be the last game played in super rugby by the franchise and who better than the club legend to do it?


Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Force 40 (26) Waratahs 11 (6)


Tries – Newsome, Polota-Nau, Brache, Lance, Hodgson
Pen – Lance (2), Hodgson
Con – Grant (2), Lance
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Roach
Pen – Foley (2)
Con –
Drop –
Cards – Gordon (11th minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Will Houston
Assistant Ref 2: Graham Cooper
TMO: Ian Smith



15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Michael Ruru, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Ross Haylett-Petty, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Pek Cowan.

Replacements: 16 Anaru Rangi, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Shambeckler Vui, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Jono Lance, 23 James Verity-Amm.


15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Rob Horne, 12 David Horwitz, 11 Cam Clark, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Dean Mumm, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 David Lolohea, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 David McDuling, 20 Ryan McCauley, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Andrew Kellaway

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.