Force win their first match !




The Force have won their first match beating the Cheetahs 16 to 14. After drawing with the Crusaders who are top the team in the tournament two weeks ago, then drawing with the Cats at the bottom of the table, Lady Luck finally smiled on the Force.

The match offered very little in the way of entertainment as both teams seemed to lack enthusiasm.

In the first half the Force were fairly equal to the Cheetahs and at the break the sides went in to the change rooms with the scores locked at 6 all.

In the second half the Force did very little on attack and it was the Cheetahs who took the game by the scruff of the neck and controlled it. The Cheetahs had 70% of the possesion but wasted try scoring opportunities.

Fly half Willem de Waal scored a try just after the break and the Cheetahs spent most of the remainng half trying to get over the line again.

The Force’s defence was relentless when it looked like they were going to suffer another defeat. Then ten minutes from time Scott Staniforth (yes him again) drew the scores level again at 14 all with the Force’s only try in the match.

Cameron Shepherd slotted the penalty bringing the scores to Cheetahs 14 Force 16. The Force then held out for remaining 10 minutes to secure the win.

Nathan Sharpe who won man of the match said after the match how pleased he was that the Force had won the match especially since they played badly in this match.

The Force also have the honour of being the only Australian team to win a match in week 13.



Tries- de Waal, Conversion – de Waal, Penalty – de Waal 2


Tries- Staniforth, Conversion -Shepherd-, Penalty – Cameron Shepherd 3

Referee: Bryce Lawrence (NZ)

Cheetahs v Western Force, Kimberly, Saturday

Cheetahs :

15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Eddie Fredericks, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Barry Goodes, 11 Gaffie du Toit, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Ryno van der Merwe (c), 7 Ockie van Zyl, 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Barend Pieterse, 4 Corniel van Zyl, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Os du Randt.

Reserves: 16 Ollie le Roux, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Juan Smith, 19 Frans Viljoen, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Giscard Pieters.

Western Force:

1. Angus Scott 2. Tai McIsaac 3. David Fitter 4. John Welborn 5. Nathan Sharpe (c) 6. David Pusey 7. Matt Hodgson 8. Scott Fava 9. Matt Henjak 10. Brock James 11. Digby Ioane 12. Scott Staniforth 13. Josh Graham 14. Haig Sare 15. Cameron Shepherd 16. Luke Holmes 17. David Te Moana 18. Pat O’Connor 19. Luke Doherty 20. Chris O’Young 21. Lachlan MacKay 22. Junior Pelesasa

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.