Force’s Fava returns for the Stormers



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Vice captain Scott Fava returns to the Emirates Western Force line-up and deputy scrumhalf Chris O’Young will start for the first time in Friday night’s clash against the Stormers.

Fava missed last week’s game against the Bulls after suffering a nasty head-knock in the Commonwealth Games. But the powerful Number 8 has been given medical clearance to play and will resume his position at the back of the scrum.

After coming off the bench for all six Tooheys New Super 14 games this year, Chris O’Young will makes his run-on debut for the Emirates Western Force.

Also starting for the first time in the ocean blue is prop Angus Scott, who performed well during the 30 minutes he played against the Bulls last Saturday, while Brendan Cannon returns to the 15 after a bout of gastroenteritis.

Exciting outside back, Gavin DeBartolo ‘ who also made his Super 14 debut last week ‘ remains in the 22, while flyhalf Scott Daruda returns to the squad.

Emirates Western Force coach John Mitchell welcomed the return of Scott Fava and applauded the efforts of stand-in Number 8 Richard Brown, who now switches to the openside flank ahead of Matt Hodgson.

‘Richard Brown is deserving of selection based on his recent performances ‘ he’ll bring more presence against the likes of Schalk Burger,’ Mitchell said.

Mitchell also praised the efforts of Matt Henjak, who moves to the bench for Chris O’Young.

‘We always promised Chris a starting opportunity in our inaugural year and it’s important we honour that promise,’ he said.

‘I am very happy with Matt’s progress. People need to appreciate that it’s his first full year of a starting role at scrumhalf and, when he did play last year, it was inside the experienced Stephen Larkham. He is still developing his game and his leadership.’

‘Matt is an outstanding team member both on and off the field.’

Mitchell said the Stormers had an international midfield and a mobile pack ‘ a team with plenty of threats.

‘They are a very mobile team, probably the most mobile of the South African sides, with a variety of skills,’ he said.

‘They also have an impressive coaching unit in Kobus Van Der Merwe and former Springboks coach, Nick Mallett.’

The squad is:
1. Gareth Hardy 2. Brendan Cannon 3. Angus Scott 4. John Welborn 5. Nathan Sharpe (c) 6. Luke Doherty 7. Richard Brown 8. Scott Fava 9. Chris O’Young 10. James Hilgendorf 11. Digby Ioane 12. Scott Staniforth 13. Josh Graham 14. Haig Sare 15. Cameron Shepherd

16. Tai McIsaac 17. David Fitter 18. David Pusey 19. Matt Hodgson 20. Matt Henjak 21. Scott Daruda 22. Gavin DeBartolo

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.