June International Tours

Ford and Nowell return for England against Australia




England head coach Eddie Jones has named a team with two changes to the team that beat Australia last week with George Ford and Jack Nowell returning to the starting side.

Ford comes back into the starting line up at fly-half which pushed Owen Farrell to inside centre while Nowell is reinstated on the wing.

The pack is unchanged to the one that started the first Test against Australia in Brisbane last weekend.

“We’ve picked a 23 to get the job done in Melbourne,” said England Head Coach Eddie Jones.

“Throughout the week the players have shown they’re desperate to wear the red rose which meant some close calls on selection.

“It’s a 23 that suits the way we want to play at AAMI Park. George and Owen playing together gives us two great kicking options and Jack is a high work-rate player.”

Elsewhere Saracens hooker Jamie George, Harlequins back-row forward Jack Clifford and Wasps centre Elliot Daly are all included as replacements.

Back-row forward Chris Robshaw will win his 50th England cap having made his debut against Argentina in 2009.

“As soon as we came off the field in Brisbane our thoughts turned to Melbourne and I’m pleased with how we’ve prepared as the week has progressed,” added Jones,

“The players have recognised the importance of going up another level and have trained with a real intensity and purpose.”

England defeated Australia 39-28 in the first Test in Brisbane last weekend to get the three-match southern hemisphere tour off to a winning start but Jones says his side will need to improve on that display to clinch the series.

“We weren’t satisfied with last weekend’s performance and we know there’s lots to improve on, particularly aspects of our defence and breakdown work, which we’re confident we’ve remedied,” he said.

“We know the job isn’t done. We came here to win a Test series and that’s what we intend to do. Australia will try and throw everything at us on Saturday and we’ll be ready for the challenge.”


15. Mike Brown ,14. Anthony Watson ,13. Jonathan Joseph ,12. Owen Farrell (vc),11. Jack Nowell ,10. George Ford ,9. Ben Youngs ,1. Mako Vunipola,2. Dylan Hartley (c),3. Dan Cole,4. Maro Itoje ,5. George Kruis ,6. Chris Robshaw,7. James Haskell,8. Billy Vunipola (vc)

Replacements: 16. Jamie George,17. Matt Mullan ,18. Paul Hill,19. Joe Launchbury,20. Courtney Lawes ,21. Jack Clifford,22. Danny Care ,23. Elliot Daly

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.