Former champions Bulls opt for experience



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Bulls rugby coach, Frans Ludeke, has named a vastly experienced Super 14 group that includes Springboks such as Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana, Fourie du Preez, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw and Pierre Spies.

Matfield (pictured) is one of six players who have represented the Bulls in 65 or more Super Rugby matches with Du Preez, Botha, Rossouw, JP Nel and Pedrie Wannenburg the others, while Habana and Akona Ndungane are only one match shy of 50 caps.

The reliable fullback, Tiger Mangweni, new recruit Jaco Pretorius and Namibian Jacques Burger, are the only players in the squad who haven’t played Super Rugby for the Bulls, but Mangweni represented the Stormers was well as the Cheetahs in previous years, while Pretorius played quite a number of matches for the Lions.

The youngsters in the squad who have already played Super Rugby are Francois Hougaard, Burton Francis, Dewald Potgieter, Deon Stegmann, Werner Kruger, Bandise Maku, Stephan Dippenaar and Dean Greyling while the likes of Francois Brummer, Frik Kirsten, Okkie Kruger, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Stefan Watermeyer and Gerhard van den Heever will be keen to make their debut in 2009.

A standout feature of 2009’s squad is the versatility of the players with Habana, Spies, Rossouw, Wannenburg, Potgieter, Burger, Kruger, Pretorius, Wynand Olivier, Marius Delport and Morn’ Steyn being able to play in more than one position.

This flexibility is a massive asset and it surely will play a huge role, especially when the team is touring Australasia.

Bulls 14 squad:

Fullbacks: Zane Kirchner, Tiger Mangweni

Wings: Bryan Habana, Akona Ndungane, John Mametsa, Gerhard van der Heever

Centres: Wynand Olivier, JP Nel, Jaco Pretorius, Wayne Julies, Marius Delport, Stephan Dippenaar, Stefan Watermeyer

Flyhalves: Morn’ Steyn, Burton Francis, Francois Brummer

Scrumhalves: Fourie du Preez, Heini Adams, Francois Hougaard

Loose forwards: Pierre Spies, Deon Stegmann, Pedrie Wannenburg, Dewald Potgieter, Jacques Burger, Dries van Schalkwyk, Okkie Kruger, Gerrit-Jan van Velze

Locks: Victor Matfield (captain), Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Wilhelm Steenkamp,

Props: Gurthr’ Steenkamp, Rayno Gerber, Werner Kruger, Jaco Engels, Dean Greyling, Ruan Vermeulen, Frik Kirsten

Hookers: Derick Ku’n, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bandise Maku.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.