Four black players to start in every SA Super 14 team



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The South African Rugby Union has has confirmed that four black players must be included in the starting lineups for the five South African teams in this year’s Super-14 competition.

This was said by South Africa Rugby Union (SARU) chief executive Johan Prinsloo. Prinsloo told the Business Day newspaper that each Super 14 franchise had to include eight black players in its squads, with six in every match 22 and four in the starting lineups.

This year’s quotas are being enfocred in order to give Springbok coach Jake White an expanded pool of experienced black players eligible for Springbok selection.

“I admit that we have not delivered on some of our transformation objectives in the past, but the coaches now understand the significance of the process,” Prinsloo said.

“The president, Brian van Rooyen, has made it clear that we will not accept excuses and that the transformation process will be monitored carefully.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.