Fourie gets hat trick as Cats hang on to beat Blues




The Cats beat the Blues at Ellis Park in Round 13 and picking up the four try bonus point. The Cats had a very good first half eventually leading the star studded Blues 20-0.

The Cats arguably put in their best performance all year with good performances all round. In particular Springbok Jaque Fourie excelled scoring a hat trick of tries. Coach Ludeke chose to move Fourie from the wing to centre which is Fourie’s favourite position.

The Cats did lose one of their favourite sons in the first half when Klein Jan Tromp was stretchered off. The loss however did not effect the Cats.

The Cats led the Blues comfortably throughout the match but in the last 5 minutes the Blues came back at the Cats scoring two tries.

Kurtis Haiu went over for the Blues bonus point try and a minute later Doug Howlett showed a clean pair of heels flying over for another try sparking panic in the Cats team. McAlistair’s conversion brought the Blues to within a point with two minutes to go.

The Blues continued to apply pressure but in the end the late Blues resurgence proved to be too little too late as the Cats defended.

Jano Vermaak won man of the match even though Fourie scored three tries. After the match Cats coach Frans Ludeke said how happy he was to have his players putting in an 80 minute performance which showed the caliber of talent in his team.

The Blues picked up two bonus points for scoring four tries and finishing within 7 points. Next week the Cats take on the Cheetahs who lost to the Force this week.

This was the Cats second victory of the season both of them coming against New Zealand teams.

The Blues fly home to host the Chiefs who also lost to the Cats at Ellis Park at the start of this season.

Final Score Cats 34 – Blues 33


Tries – Jaque Fourie 3 , Vermaak, Conversions- Andre Pretorius 4- Penalty – Pretorius 2
Tries – Isa Nacewa, Anthony Tuitavake, Brent Ward, Kurtis Haiu, Doug Howlett, Conversions- Luke McAlister 2, Isa Nacewa 2

Cats :

15 Earl Rose, 14 Conrad Jantjes, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wayne Julies, 11 Wylie Human, 10 Andre Pretorius (c), 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Trevor Hall, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Willem Stoltz, 4 KleinJan Tromp, 3 Bertus Smit, 2 Delarey du Preez, 1 Lawrence Sephaka.

Reserves: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Daniel Muller, 18 Alten Hulme, 19 Gerhard Vosloo, 20 Enrico Januarie, 21 Doppies la Grange, 22 Grant Esterhuizen.


15 Brent Ward, 14 Doug Howlett, 13 Ben Atiga, 12 Isa Nacewa, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Junior Poluleuligaga, 8 Nick Williams, 7 Onosai’i Tololima-Auva’a, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Anthony Boric, 4 Greg Rawlinson, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu (c), 1 Tony Woodcock.

Reserves: 16 Tim Dow, 17 Saimone Taumoepeau, 18 Ali Williams, 19 Kurtis Haiu, 20 John Senio, 21 Tasesa Lavea, 22 Anthony Tuitavake.

Referee: Matt Goddard (Aus)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.