Super Rugby

Genia one of six Rebels changes for Crusaders




Rebels Super rugby head coach Dave Wessels has named a team with six changes to the starting line up to play the Crusaders at AAMI Park in Melbourne.

Wallabies half back Will Genia returns from a hamstring injury he suffered three weeks ago and goes straight into the starting line up.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Coach David Wessels has made changes right across the board with Fereti Sa’aga and Sam Talakai replacing Tetera Faulkner and Jermaine Ainsley as the starting props.

Also in the forwards, Geoff Parling makes his first start since the Jaguares match, as Angus Cottrell moves to blindside flank with specialist on-baller Colby Fainga’a starting at number 7.

Jack Maddocks returns from a minor ankle injury that saw him be a late withdrawal last weekend in Cape Town. The 21-year-old will start at fullback. Sefa Naivalu’s brace against the Stormers earns him another start on the wing.

Melbourne Rebels Head Coach, Dave Wessels said: “The Crusaders are obviously a good side. We’ll need to be playing at our best and have a little luck fall our way.

“We’ve had a great week – signing a fantastic new major partner in the Legacy Property and Investment Group, as well as selling out the suites at AAMI Park for the first time since 2012.

“Our goal from the start of the year has been to make the people of Melbourne proud and we feel these two things are a recognition from the community that we’re heading in the right direction. Although we’re well aware of just how much work is still to be done.

“We’re delighted to have Will (Genia) back, he obviously brings great experience and leads our side around the park very well.


15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Sefa Naivalu, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Will Genia, 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Colby Fainga’a, 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Geoff Parling, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Anaru Rangi, 1 Fereti Sa’aga

Replacements: 16 Nathan Charles, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Jermaine Ainsley, 19 Matt Philip, 20 Lopeti Timani, 21 Michael Ruru, 22 Tom English, 23 Semisi Tupou

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.