Giteau ends Chiefs unbeaten run



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update.




It’s hard to pick the Force these days. It used to be quite simple – if they were away from home then they stood a good chance of winning and if they were at home against a top half team they then would have been expected to lose.

Saturday May 3
Subiaco Oval, Perth
Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Touch judges: Mark Lawrence (South Africa), D Mitchelmore (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)
Assessor: Andrew Cole (Australia), Stuart Beissel (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 2, Chiefs 2, Force 0
In Perth: Played 1, Chiefs 1, Force 0
Last season: Round 11, April 14 2007: Chiefs 64-36 Force at Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

Match Detail


0.00 – We are waiting for the kick off.


4.00: The Force were the first to score as Matt Hodgson charged down a Chiefs clearance kick.


5.00: Matt Giteau took the conversion from the corner flag and slotted to give the Force a 7 point lead.


7.00: The Force gave away a penalty so Stephen Donald had a shot at goal and got the Chiefs on the board.


10.00: The Force score a great team try as Drew Mitchell breaks through three tackles to power over the line for the home team.


11.00: Matt Giteau slots the conversion from almost the same place as his previous kick.


20.00: The Force are taking the game to the Chiefs and they look to be almost back to the form they showed in the early rounds.


22.00: The Force’s defence gives away a penalty so Stephen Donald has a shot at goal but misses.


26.00: The Force use the ball at pace and Drew Mitchell comes close to scoring a second try in the corner but is shoved out.


30.00: The Force are dominationg this game as Nick Cummins and Cameron Shepherd come close to scoring another try for the Force on the opposite wing to Mitchell.


32.00: Both teams get a talking to over infringements at the scrum.


38.00: Sione Lauaki comes close to scoring but he is held out.


39.00: Richard Kahui has a run for the line but Cameron Sheherd gets back and pushes him out.


40.03: The Siren goes for half time.


The half time score was Force 14 Chiefs 3


42.00: The Chiefs got the perfect start as Sitiveni Sivivatu broke a tackle and passed to Lelia Masaga who ran in to score the Chiefs first try.


43.00: Stephen Donald missed the conversion.


44.00: The Chiefs gave a penalty away so Matt Giteau had a shot at goal but the ball hit the posts and stayed out.


52.00: The Chiefs give away a penalty for an offside offence so Matt Giteau has a shot at goal and misses.


59.00: The Force work the ball up to the line and Mitchell gest tackled but keeps his legs pumping and it keeps him going forward but he is short. The ball gets turned over and the Chiefs run it wide but put in forward pass.


61.00: James Stannard catches the Chiefs napping and he scores in the corner after a great break from James O’Connor.


The Force are now in the hunt for the bonus point.


62.00: Matt Giteau takes the conversion but sends it wide.


64.00: The Chiefs hit straight back Luaki sets up Donald who scores a try under the posts.


65.00: Stephen Donald converts his own try.


69.00: The Force are starting to show cracks and they give away a penalty so Stephen Donald takes a shot at goal and slots it to close the gap to one point.


71.00: The Chiefs throw everything at the Force and there is a moment of mayhem as both teams are in complete disarray.


73.00: The Chiefs break free and the ball is passed to an open Sitiveni Sivivatu drops the ball and the try goes begging.  


There is a break in play as two Force players are down. Nick Cummins is then carried off. Troy Takiari gets some attention.


74.00: The Chiefs go on the attack and out the Force under pressure putting phase after phase together.


76.00: Callum Bruce goes back for the drop goal and slots it taking the lead.


77.00: Such is the noise in the stadium the Force go on to score a try after the whistle has been blown for a forward pass. No try. Giteau looks bemused.


78.00: The Force get a free kick and run it. The ball goes to ground and it gets stolen.


79.00: The Force run the ball and the Chiefs are caught offside. Cameron Shepherd scores a try but the TV ref says the ball was dropped in the pass. No try but they go back for the offside penalty.


The match comes down to a Matt Giteau penalty kick.


Matt Giteau takes the shot and slots it – the Force win.


Full time score Force 22 Chiefs 21





Tries – Matt Hodgson, Drew Mitchell, James Stannard

Pen – Matt Giteau

Con – Matt Giteau (2)



Tries – Lelia Masaga , Stephen Donald

Pen – Stephen Donald (2)

Con – Stephen Donald
Drop goal – Callum Bruce




1. Pek Cowan,2. Tai McIsaac,3. Troy Takiari,4. David Pusey,5. Nathan Sharpe (c),6. Scott Fava,7. David Pocock,8. Matt Hodgson,9. James Stannard,10. Matt Giteau (vc),11. Drew Mitchell,12. James O’Connor,13. Ryan Cross,14. Nick Cummins,15. Cameron Shepherd

Reserves:16. Luke Holmes,17. Kieran Longbottom,18. Sitaleki Timani,19. Richard Brown,20. Chris O’Young,21. Scott Daruda,22. Dane Haylett-Petty.


1. Simms Davison 2. Tom Willis 3. Ben May 4. Toby Lynn 5. Kevin O’Neill 6. Liam Messam 7. Tanerau Latimer 8. Sione Lauaki 9. Jamie Nutbrown 10. Stephen Donald 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu 12. Callum Bruce 13. Richard Kahui 14. Lelia Masaga 15. Mils Muliaina (capt)


16. Aled de Malmanche 17. Ben Castle 18. Jay Williams 19. Faifili Levave 20. David Bason 21. Dwayne Sweeney 22. Sosene Anesi.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.