Giteau snatches injury time victory for the Force



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Matt Giteau kicked an injury time penalty to end the Chiefs unbeaten run and to win the match for the Force by 22 points to 21 in Perth on Saturday.


The match was an absolute thriller.


The last 12 minutes saw the lead change twice and Callum Bruce looked to have won the match with a drop goal with only four minutes remaining.

The Force were the better team on the day and scored three tries to the Chiefs two.


The result also keeps the Force mathematically still in the hunt for the play offs.


The result undermined Waikato’s push for a semifinal berth, while keeping the Force in the hunt for a top four spot with two games to play.


The Force scored two early tries and led 14-3 at halftime, with No.8 Matt Hodgson charging down Richard Nutbrown’s attempted clearance to score the first try.

After Stephen Donald’s penalty, the Force’s good possession yielded more points in the 11th minute when Drew Mitchell charged over after a slick passing move.

Lelia Masaga and Stephen Donald scored second-half tries for the Chiefs before Giteau’s late penalty gave the Force the win.

Full time score Force 22 Chiefs 21





Tries – Matt Hodgson, Drew Mitchell, James Stannard

Pen – Matt Giteau

Con – Matt Giteau (2)



Tries – Lelia Masaga , Stephen Donald

Pen – Stephen Donald (2)

Con – Stephen Donald
Drop goal – Callum Bruce




1. Pek Cowan,2. Tai McIsaac,3. Troy Takiari,4. David Pusey,5. Nathan Sharpe (c),6. Scott Fava,7. David Pocock,8. Matt Hodgson,9. James Stannard,10. Matt Giteau (vc),11. Drew Mitchell,12. James O’Connor,13. Ryan Cross,14. Nick Cummins,15. Cameron Shepherd

Reserves:16. Luke Holmes,17. Kieran Longbottom,18. Sitaleki Timani,19. Richard Brown,20. Chris O’Young,21. Scott Daruda,22. Dane Haylett-Petty.


1. Simms Davison 2. Tom Willis 3. Ben May 4. Toby Lynn 5. Kevin O’Neill 6. Liam Messam 7. Tanerau Latimer 8. Sione Lauaki 9. Jamie Nutbrown 10. Stephen Donald 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu 12. Callum Bruce 13. Richard Kahui 14. Lelia Masaga 15. Mils Muliaina (capt)


16. Aled de Malmanche 17. Ben Castle 18. Jay Williams 19. Faifili Levave 20. David Bason 21. Dwayne Sweeney 22. Sosene Anesi.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.