Super Rugby

Gold rotates Sharks for Jaguares




Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold has named his team to play the Jaguares in Argentina and rotated a number of players.

Despite beating the Hurricanes last week Gold has given some players rest but stressed that they cannot take things easy after one victory.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Lwazi Mvovo has been rested as per Springbok requirements and Odwa Ndungane comes into the starting line up.

Sharks captain Pat Lambie starts at flyhalf having come off the replacements bench last week.

In the forwards Jean Deysel replaces Jean-Luc du Preez who was not considered due to an injury sustained on Tuesday this week.

Etienne Oosthuizen has been rotated to the bench with Lubabalo Mtyanda moving into the starting line up.

In the final change to the starting XV, Lourens Adriaanse makes way for Coenie Oosthuizen in the front row, while there is a welcome return to action for Tera Mtembu who has been named on the bench after missing much of the season due to injury.

“I am proud of the effort and character displayed against the Hurricanes,” said Gold.

“To put the pressure that we did on ourselves and to rectify our errors, by stringing some good phases together and scoring some fantastic tries, will certainly add to our confidence. I don’t think it was a once-off effort this past weekend. We’ve been building and making progress each week to get to this phase.

“In terms of travel we are going to unchartered waters, but we making no excuses and are looking forward to the challenge against a very good Jaguares team, who have come off a 70-point win last weekend. They are a team laden with internationals and we know that we are in for a physical battle on Saturday.

“We needed to be precise in our preparation for this match and we’ve had a good few days in Durban and the guys are in good shape. We are still in the fight and have some tough matches coming up, which are critically important, but we remain focussed and committed to the challenges that lie ahead.”


15. Willie le Roux , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Patrick Lambie (C) , 9. Michael Claassens , 8. Daniel du Preez , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Lubabalo Mtyanda , 3. Coenie Oosthuizen , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle / Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Garth April , 23. S’bura Sithole / Joe Pietersen

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.