Currie Cup

Griffons aim to make it three in a row



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Griffons will aim to make it three victories out of three on Friday when they travel to George for their Currie Cup First Division match against the SWD Eagles at the Outeniqua Stadium.

The Welkom team are top of the log following their victories against the Valke (39-27) and the BA Mighty Elephants (36-25) earlier in the competition.

The Griffons, however, will face their most strenuous test to date when they take on the Eagles – a side who are always difficult to beat at home.

The hosts boast a backline with international experience thanks to the likes of former Springbok utility back Gaffie du Toit and Bevan Fortuin. But both players were part of the Eagles’ 11-10 victory over the Border Bulldogs in East London last weekend and failed to make a major contribution to their team’s win.

“We did not have a good day at the office against the Border Bulldogs, but my team is capable of a much better performance,” Eagles coach Johann Lerm said after that game.

Meanwhile, Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse has wasted no time in selecting new recruit MJ Mentz to his starting line up against the Mighty Elephants in Uitenhage on Saturday.

Mentz will start his first game for the Pumas in place of Shaun Venter who is relegated to the bench.

Venter will also double up as the reserve scrumhalf. With ace goal-kicker Braam Pretorius and Pumas top try-scorer Allister Kettledas on the wing, Stonehouse has opted for the speedy Mentz to start at fullback.

There are no other changes to the Pumas starting team that comprehensively defeated the Valke 79-24 last weekend.


SWD Eagles –

Bevan Fortuin, Norman Nelson, Izak Saayman, Joe Breytenbach, Bobby Joubert, Gaffie du Toit, Jandré Blom, Schalk van der Merwe, Shawn Raubenheimer, Victor Joubert, Henry Grimes, Wikus Liebenberg, Renier Schoeman, Wayne Bennet, Jaco Terblanche.

Reserves: Ashton Constant, Anton van der Westhuizen, Denzil Manuel, Hein Potgieter, Warren Malgas, Ricardo Croy, Jaques Engelbrecht.

Griffons – Tertuis Maarman, Darryl Coeries, Eddie Fredericks, Werner Griesel, Shane Hancke, Kennedy Tsimba, Gerrie Odendaal, Nicky Steyn (c), Marnus Briedenhann, Albert Parsons, Izak van der Westhuizen, Windpomp van Rooyen, Sewes Oosthuizen, Ashley Johnson, Kevin Stevens.

Reserves: Hercholl Johnson, Sarel Louw, Pieter Myburgh, Johnny Fourie, Enrico Shultz, Thabang Molefe, Tiaan van Wyk. BA Mighty

Elephants – Ryan Brown, Willie Esterhuizen, Alfonso Pietersen, Siviwe Magaba, Howard Noble, Jaco van Schalkwyk, Marlon Lewis, Lubabalo Mzwakali, Jacques Potgieter, Elroy Ligman, Willie Bower, Andries Smit, Sangoni Mxoli, Robert Dyer, Pumlani Nodikida.

Reserves: Herculaas Liebenberg, Ayanda Nogampula, Ruahan van Jaarsveld, Michael Vermaak, Chad Erskine, Johannes van Niekerk, Hendrik de Ridder.

Pumas – MJ Mentz, Braam Pretorius, Tiaan Marx, Jovan Botha, Allistair Kettledas, Valentine van Wyk, Jacques Coetzee, Christo le Roux, Jaco Bouwer, Corne Steenkamp (c), Marius Coetzer, Luan Velthuizen, Ashley Buys, Hannes Franklin, Dawie Steyn.

Reserves: Torsten van Jaarsveld, De Jay Terblanche, Eduan van der Walt, Jacques Verwey, Shaun Venter, Gawie Marx, Ruan Lamprecht.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.