Super Rugby

Highlanders and Crusaders draw in pre-season trial




The Highlanders and the Crusaders played to a 19-all draw in their Super Rugby pre-season warm up at Fred Booth Park in Waimumu.

Both teams scored three tries, two conversions each but it was a later try from the Crusaders that turned the match into a draw.

The match was the Highlanders second in a short turnaround as they played French club Racing Metro in Hong Kong on Saturday.

A downpour shortly before the match meant that conditions were not ideal and the ball was slippery. However the almost 7000 fans in attendance still got to see six tries scored.

The first try was scored by Highlanders second five-eighth Tei Walden after 10 minutes. On the half an hour mark Waisake Naholo picked up an intercept and looked to be on his way before he was called by by referee Jamie Nutbrown for off-side.

Three minutes later Crusaders wing Sione Fifita scored the Christchurch side’s opening try which took the teams to a 5-7 half time score.

The Highlanders made several changes for the second half and brought on some of their stars such as All Black halfback Aaron Smith.

The Super Rugby champion Highlanders were sparked by the arrival of the new brigade as they ran in two tries before the Crusaders could respond.

Fijian winger Nemani Nadolo broke the momemtum with a try for the Crusaders with 10 minutes remaining and then Southland flanker Tim Boys scored their third at the death to level the scores.

The Highlanders play another warm up match against the New South Wales Waratahs in Queenstown on February 19.

The Crusaders open their Super Rugby season against the Chiefs in Christchurch on February 27 while the Highlanders take on the Blues in Auckland.

Final Score Highlanders 19 (5) Crusaders 19 (7)


Tries – Tei Walden, Malakai Fekitoa, Patrick Osborne
Pen –
Con – Marty Banks, Lima Sopoaga
Drop –

Tries – Sione Fifita, Nemani Nadolo, Tim Boys
Pen –
Con – Richie Mo’unga, N,Nadolo
Drop –



1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Siosiua Halanukonuka , 4. Mark Reddish , 5. Tom Franklin , 6. Gareth Evans , 7. James Lentjes , 8. Luke Whitelock ( C ) , 9. Josh Renton , 10. Marty Banks , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Teihorangi Walden , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Matt Faddes

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 18. Ross Geldenhuys , 19. Joe Wheeler , 20. Sio Tomkinson , 21. Aaron Smith , 22. Liam Squire , 23. Jason Emery , 24. Ryan Tongia , 25. Lima Sopoaga , 26. Elliot Dixon , 27.Shane Christie , 28. Jackson Hemopo


1. Joe Moody ,2. Codie Taylor,3. Mike Alaalatoa,4. Scott Barrett,5. Samuel Whitelock (C),6. Jimmy Tupou,7. Tim Boys,8. Jordan Taufua,9. Andy Ellis,10. Richie Mo’unga,11. Sione Fifita,12. Kieron Fonotia13. Sean Wainui,14. George Bridge15. David Havili

Replacements : Ged Robinson, Wyatt Crockett, Oliver Jager, Luke Romano, Mitchell Dunshea, Reed Prinsep, Leon Fukofuka, Ben Volavola, Marty McKenzie, Jone Macilai, Mitchell Hunt, Nemani Nadolo

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.