Highlanders beat Cheetahs in Bloemfontein



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Cheetahs have never beaten the Highlanders in the Super 14. Both teams look to have improved from last year but the Cheetahs have arguably taken the biggest step up.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.


The match is underway.


3.00: The Cheetahs are using their kicking game to good effect. They pin the Highlanders back in their half.


4.00: The Highlanders get caught offside so the Cheetahs have a penalty kick.


5.00: Naas Olivier slots the penalty to put the Cheetahs in front.


7.00: The Highlanders show some good ball handling skills and after a couple of passes Kenny Lynn goes over for the first try under the posts.


8.00:Michael Hobbs adds the conversion.


10.00: The Highlanders have enjoyed 70 per cent possession in the first 10 minutes. The Cheetahs are struggling.


11.00: Hobbs is looking dangerous when he gets the ball. Riaan Viljoen intercepts and Nokwe chases but he is offsides.


17.00: Olivier puts the ball high and deep up for Nokwe who chases. The Highlanders however recycle and run the ball back at the Cheetahs.


18.00: The Highlanders get a penalty but Israel Dagg misses.


21.00: The Cheetahs are awarded a penalty so Naas Olivier gets a shot at goal and nails it.


26.00: Meyer Bosman comes back on after a brief spell in the blood bin.


28.00: As the Cheetahs attack, the ball goes to ground and rolls out almost at Fetu’,u Vainikolo’s feet so he picks it up and runs to the try line and scores the Highlanders second try as easy as you like.


30.00: Michael Hobbs misses the conversion.


33.00: Adam Thomson gets a warning from the referee and the Cheetahs get a penalty. Naas Olivier hooks the penalty.


36.00: The Cheetahs get a penalty so they take the quick tap. Brussouw runs over Adam Thomson and the Cheetahs keep the momentum. They swing the ball to Nokwe who is taken out as he kicks upfield. Penalty to the Cheetahs. They choose the line out which they win.


37.00: Cheetahs win the line out and a Highlander is caught offside. The Cheetahs go again and drive over the line. Referee Pro Legoete asks to go upstairs. No try. Legoete saw Adam Thomson taking the ball over the line and dotting down. We go back for a penalty.


39.00: Cheetahs choose to kick for posts this time. Olivier kicks and nails it.


40.10: The siren goes for half time. The Highlanders keep the ball alive. A dangerous tackle by Naas Olivier goes in so we have a Highlanders penalty shot at goal. Dagg nails it.


The half time score was Cheetahs 9 Highlanders 15


The Highlanders kick off and the second half is underway.


42.00: The Cheetahs lose their first lineout.  The Highlanders try to run the ball but the Cheetahs get an intercept. They go through the phases quickly until a penalty is awarded.


43.00: The Cheetahs take the kick and nails it.


45.00: The Highlanders get a penalty this time and Israel Dagg takes the kick and nails it.


48.00: Good spell of play from the Highlanders as they pick away at the Cheetahs defence. A penalty comes so the Highlanders kick for posts.


50.00: Dagg’s kick is successful so the lead is extended. The Highlanders are extending this lead quite well. The Cheetahs haven’t really looked like scoring for a while.


53.00: Just because I wrote that the Cheetahs had not looked like scoring they upped their game and Jongi Nokwe gets bungled into touch just before scoring a try. No try.


54.00: Vainikolo comes off for Paterson.


55.00: The Cheetahs get an unkickable penalty for a tackle in the air. They boot the ball downfield.


56.00: The Cheetahs have definately upped the pace. They swing the ball through the line and Heinrich Brussow charges for the line. He uses his momentum to go over but we have to go upstairs to see if he got it down. It looks to us as Cowan pushes down at the same time. It’s a long decision. They award the try. We are not so sure – but then again I am not the TMO.


57.00: Naas Olivier takes the conversion and slots it.


59.00: The Cheetahs get a penalty so Naas Olivier gets a big shot at the posts. He misses.


63.00: Juan Smith finds a hole in the Highlanders defence. The support follows but the ball gets knocked on as Pretorius passes to Strauss.


66.00:  The Highlanders get another penalty so Dagg gets another shot at goal as the crowd shows some very unsportring behaviour – he misses.


69.00: Hennie Daniller fails to release the ball in a tackle so Dagg gets another chance to kick for posts. More bad behaviour from the crowd but he nails it.


71.00: Michael Hobbs slices through the defence and takes Jason Shoemark with him, he is just short and then Hobbs gets the ball and scores for the Highlanders.  


72.00: Dagg adds the conversion.


75.00: The Cheetahs press hard at the Highlanders line. They have a couple of bashes at the line but get called back for an offside penalty to the Cheetahs.


78.00: The Cheetahs choose to scrum. They fire off the back of the scrum and Juan Smith gets driven over the line. We have to go upstairs to see if he got the ball down. It looked to us as if Jason Shoemark had a hand under the ball but the TMO from South Africa awards the try.


78.00: Olivier misses the conversion.


79.00: The Highlanders catch the Cheetahs offguard. They drive for the line. Cowan goes over. He doesnt get the ball down . The ball comes back and there are Highlanders all over the place trying to get the ball down. We go upstairs again. Thomson looks to have dotted the ball down on the line but the TMO says it was short. Boy this guy needs glasses. The Highlanders do however get a scrum but the hooter goes. That’s it. Highlanders win.




The final score is Cheetahs 24 Highlanders 31


Tries – H Brussow, J Smith
Pen – N. Olivier 4
Con – N Olivier
Drop –

Tries – K Lynn , F Vainikolo, M Hobbs
Pen – I Dagg 4
Con – I Dagg 2
Drop –


Match Officials
Referee: Pro Legoete(SA)
Ass. refs: Craig Joubert (SA), Cobus Wessels (SA)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (SA)



Cheetahs – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Danwel Demas, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Frans Viljoen, 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 David de Villiers, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.

Reserves: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Hennie Daniller

Highlanders -, 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Jason Shoemark, 11 Fetu’,u Vainikolo, 10 Michael Hobbs, 9 Jimmy Cowan (c), 8 Adam Thomson, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 John Hardie, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.

Reserves: 16 Jason MacDonald, 17 Chris King, 18 Hayden Triggs, 19 Tim Boys, 20 Sean Romans, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 James Paterson.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.