Highlanders change three for Hurricanes


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Highlanders have made three changes to the team that lost to the Sharks for their clash against the Hurricanes at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.

Nick Crosswell and Ma’afu Fia come into the forward pack replacing Jamie Mackintosh and Doug Tietjens.

Tietjens suffered a serious knee injury in South Africa and the Highlanders skipper, Mackintosh, has been rested after playing every game this season.


Fia will start on the tight-head side of the scrum, moving Chris King to loosehead; Crosswell will start at blindside flanker, with Adam Thomson shifting to openside.

In the backs, Phil Burleigh comes back into the run-on XV in place of Shaun Treeby who suffered a broken cheekbone against the Sharks last weekend.

On the reserves bench, Bronson Murray and Kenny Lynn return to the 22 after injury layoffs and Southland flanker Tim Boys makes a welcome return to Super Rugby.

Andrew Hore will captain the Highlanders this weekend.


1 Chris King 2 Andrew Hore (c) 3 Ma’afu Fia 4 Josh Bekhuis 5 Jarrad Hoeata 6 Nick Crosswell 7 Adam Thomson 8 Nasi Manu 9 Aaron Smith 10 Mike Delany 11 Hosea Gear 12 Phil Burleigh 13 Tamati Ellison 14 Siale Piutau 15 Ben Smith

Replacements : 16 Jason Rutledge 17 Bronson Murray 18 Culum Retallick 19 Tim Boys 20 Jimmy Cowan 21 Chris Noakes 22 Kenny Lynn

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.