Super Rugby

Highlanders extend unbeaten run with Force victory




Former Super Rugby champions the Highlanders extended their unbeaten run to eight matches by beating the Western Force 6-55 with a bonus point in Perth.

The Highlanders score is their highest ever outside of New Zealand and their biggest winning margin in Super Rugby history. The Highlanders won the second half 38-0.

The victory means that the Highlanders complete their tour of South Africa and Australia without a loss which keeps the pressure on the Chiefs and the Hurricanes whilst also giving them a 10 point lead over the Blues.

The Highlanders outscored the Western Force by eight tries to none in the match which is the Dunedin side’s third straight win over the Perth based side.

The Highlanders victory also extends the New Zealand team;s unbeaten run to 18 matches against Australian teams this season. No Australian team has beaten a New Zealand team.

Next week in Round 14 the Highlanders host the Waratahs at home in Dunedin while the Western Force travel to Brisbane to play the Reds.

More to follow.

Final Score Force 6 (6) Highlanders 55 (17)


Tries –
Pen – I.Prior 2
Con –
Drop –
Cards -S.Masirewa (38th min yellow), A.Ainley (47th min yellow)

Tries – T.Li,  A. Seiuli 2 , P.Osborne, R.Thompson 2, D.Hunt, R.Buckman
Pen – M.Banks
Con – M.Banks 6
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Shuhei Kubo
Assistant Ref 1:Ed Martin
Assistant Ref 2:Damon Murphy
TMO : Ian Smith



Pek Cowan, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Jermaine Ainsley, Richie Arnold, Adam Coleman, Ross Haylett-Petty, Brynard Stander, Richard Hardwick, Ian Prior, Peter Grant, Alex Newsome, Bill Meakes (C),Curtis Rona, Semisi Masirewa, Luke Morahan

Replacements:,Anaru Rangi,Francois van Wyk,Tetera Faulkner,Matt Philip,Lewis Carmichael, Isireli Naisarani,Michael Ruru,James Verity-Amm


1. Aki Seiuli,2. Liam Coltman,3. Siate Tokolahi,4. Alex Ainley,5. Tom Franklin,6. Gareth Evans,7. Dillon Hunt,8. Elliot Dixon (CC),9. Kayne Hammington,10. Marty Banks,11. Tevita Li,12. Richard Buckman,13. Malakai Fekitoa,14. Patrick Osborne,15. Matt Faddes

Replacements : 16.Adrian Smith ,17. Ash Dixon (CC),18. Guy Millar,19. Joe Wheeler,20. Jackson Hemopo,21. Aaron Smith,22. Lima Sopoaga,23. Rob Thompson

Recommended for you

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.