Highlanders get Waratahs scalp



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live match report.




Waratahs coach Ewen McKenzie will be happy with the timing of this fixture. The Highlanders present a challenge to his faltering side, but yet it is a challenge that they possibly could meet.

The Highlanders present to the Sydney side a neat shot at proving to themselves, and indeed reminding themselves, that they can beat decent opposition in the Super 14.

The Highlanders have had mixed fortunes so far, turning out victories over the Force, the Reds, the Stormers and the Cheetahs.
In winning four games in this highly competitive Super 14, the Highlanders have formed part of the backlog of teams vying for a semi-final spot from mid-table, and a win here is vital to keep their dim hopes alive.

The return of Anton Oliver and Carl Hayman has bolstered their side tremendously, and, if Nick Evans can find some meaningful form, this side can pose a challenge to anyone in the competition.


Match detail


The Highlanders kick through the Waratahs line three times and on the third time Waqaseduadua gets to the ball first and scores the first try.


Nick Evans is unable to convert the try.


The Highlanders continue to try the chip kick through but the Waratahs defence has tightened up.


It took the Waratahs 16 minutes to socre their first points and they came when Peter Hewat kicked a penalty.


Sam Norton-Knight makes a break which delights the crowd but is cut down. The Waratahs in general appear to be running better in this match.


The Waatahs are given a penalty for offside so Peter Hewat kicks another penalty which puts the Waratahs in the lead for the first time.


Nick Evans fires straight back with a penalty putting the Highlanders back in front.


The Highlanders get some quick ball from a penalty and Nick Evans is there at the end to score the try. He misses the conversion.


The Highlanders are finding gaps in the Waratahs defence and this time it’s Jason Kawau who runs through the Tah’s backline and scores under the posts.


Nick Evans converts and the Highlanders are two converted tries ahead.


Just ahead of the half time the Waratahs try to get back into the game with a long high kick to Elsom on the wing but it’s too long and they are called back.


A penalty is then awarded for the Highlanders so Evans has a long shot (43m) at goal and  misses.


The Half time Score was Waratahs 6 Highlanders 20


Tatafu Polota-Nau gives away a penalty right in front of the posts for coming in at the side of a ruck so Nick Evans kicks the Highlanders three more points.


The Waratahs give another kickable penalty again and again Evans adds another three points for the Highlanders.


The Highlanders are much more in the game now than they were in the first half and the possesion figures have swung in favour of the Highlanders.


Out of the blue the Waratahs come up with a great try and Josh Holmes get his first Super Rugby try as he reaches over the line. Hewat converts the try.


Josh Holmes again stars as he breaks through the Highlanders defence, pops the ball up to Peter Hewat in the tackle and Hewat scores the Waratahs second try.


Hewat converts and amazingly the Waratahs are in the bonus point zone.  


Lote Tuqiri break through the defence and the ball gets to Peter Hewat who dives over for his second try.


Hewat in the process picks up a bit of cramp but takes the conversion anyway. Hewat misses the conversion that could have won the match for them.


The siren goes and the Waratahs lose again.


Report to follow.


Full time score Waratahs 25 Highlanders 26




Tries –  Josh Holmes,Peter Hewat
Pen – Peter Hewat (2)
Conv – Peter Hewat (2)



Tries –  Waqaseduadua,Nick Evans,Jason Kawau
Pen – Nick Evans (3)
Conv – Nick Evans




Waratahs: 15 Peter Hewat, 14 Lachlan Turner, 13 Ben Jacobs, 12 Sam Harris, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Sam Norton-Knight, 9 Josh Holmes, 8 David Lyons, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Will Caldwell, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Matt Dunning
Replacements: 16 Adam Freier, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Tim Davidson, 19 Wycliff Palu, 20 Nathan Sievert, 21 Chris Siale, 22 Daniel Halangahu

Highlanders: 15 James Wilson, 14 Lucky Mulipola, 13 Jason Kawau, 12 Aaron Bancroft, 11 Viliame Waqaseduadua, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Ezra Taylor, 7 Josh Blackie (c), 6 Craig Newby, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Filipo Levi, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Anton Oliver, 1 Clarke Dermody.
Replacements: 16 Jason Macdonald, 17 Chris King, 18 Kane Thompson, 19 Hale T-Pole, 20 Toby Morland, 21 Charlie Hore, 22 Matthew Saunders.

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Touch judges: Willie Roos (South Africa), Geoff Acton (Australia)
Television match official: Paul Marks (Australia)
Assessor: Andrew Cole, Paul Ramsay

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.