Highlanders go down to Sharks




In the last match of the Super 14 Round 3 The Sharks hosted the Highlanders who have so far not had a succesful tour in South Africa.

The Sharks on the other hand have had an impressive start to their Super 14 season albeit that they have not had a match away from home yet.
The Sharks should could have scored another try or two but made mistakes .

All points for the Sharks were scored by Percy Montgomery and the Sharks who are the only team who have not lost a match yet in the 2007 Super 14.


If the Sharks go continue down the road they are on, this Highlanders loss will be less painful.


Final Score Sharks 23 – Highlanders 16


Try: Percy Montgomery (2).
Conversion: Montgomery (2).
Penalty: Montgomery (3)

Highlanders- Try: Jason Kawau.
Conversion: Charlie Hore
Penalty: Hore (3)


Sharks: 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Waylon Murray, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Bradley Barritt, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Francois Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 AJ Venter (c), 6 Warren Britz, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 BJ Botha, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Deon Carstens.
Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Kees Lensing, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Bob Skinstad, 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Butch James

Highlanders: 15 Craig Clare, 14 Lucky Mulipola, 13 Matthew Saunders, 12 Callum Bruce, 11 Greg Zampach, 10 Charlie Hore, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Craig Newby, 7 Josh Blackie (c), 6 Hoani MacDonald, 5 James Ryan, 4 Kane Thompson, 3 Clarke Dermody, 2 Jason Macdonald, 1 Chris King
Replacements: 16 David Hall, 17 Keith Cameron, 18 Ezra Taylor, 19 Alando Soakai, 20 Toby Morland, 21 Jason Kawau, 22 Willie Rickards

Referee: James Leckie (Australia)
Touch judges: Geoff Acton (Australia), JC Fortuin (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.