Highlanders name team for Chiefs trial match


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Highlanders coach Jamie Joseph has named his starting XV to play the Chiefs at at Owen Delany Park in Taupo on Saturday in a Super Rugby trial match.

Three players will pull on the Highlanders jersey for the first time; Brad Thorn, Joe Wheeler , and Frae Wilson will start the match.

Thorn returns to Super Rugby after a season in Japan, while Wheeler made his Super Rugby debut for the Crusaders in 2011 before , joining the Southern franchise this season.

Wilson, who played for the All Black Maori Team , on its tour to the UK late last year, also runs out for the first time in the Highlanders strip.

As is usual with pre-season games, the majority of the Highlanders squad will travel to Taupo for the match. There are a number of new faces among the reserves.

In the forwards Hugh Blake will travel with the team; additionally Paul Grant, Tom Frankin and Sam Prattley are all players who have been called into the squad as injury cover.

In the backs, new players are the Otago trio of Tony Ensor, Hayden Parker and Fumiaki Tanaka, and they are joined by Trent Renata and Jason Emery.


1. Jamie Mackintosh , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Ma’afu Fia , 4. Brad Thorn , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Jarrad Hoeata , 7. Tim Boys , 8. Elliot Dixon , 9. Frae Wilson , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Hosea Gear (c) , 12. Shaun Treeby , 13. Phil Burleigh , 14. Buxton Popoalii , 15. Ben Smith


Backs: Jason Emery, Tony Ensor, Kade Poki, Hayden Parker, Trent Renata, Aaron Smith and Fumiaki Tanaka.

Forwards: Josh Bekhuis, Hugh Blake, Tom Franklin, Paul Grant, Brayden Mitchell, Bronson Murray and Sam Prattley.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.