Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Highlanders name team for Chiefs

Rampant Rosco Specman treble sees Belligerent Bulls gore lowly Highlanders 38-13 at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRICA - MARCH 07: Josh Ioane of the Highlanders, Cornal Hendricks and Josh Strauss of the Bulls during the Super Rugby match between Vodacom Bulls and Highlanders at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on March 07, 2020 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Highlanders Super rugby head coach Aaron Mauger has brought Josh Ioane back into the matchday 23 and named a largely unchanged team from last Sunday’s close loss to the Hurricanes for the Chiefs this week.

Ioane, who withdrew before the round one match against the Chiefs with a reaggravated groin strain the injury, will get his first taste of Super Rugby Aotearoa.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

“It’s been tough to be on the sidelines watching as there has been some great games going on and I’m excited to get the opportunity to get back out there” said Ioane.

There are no changes in the forward pack with Dillon Hunt, who left the field last week after sustaining a finger in the eye, being declared fit to play.

Jona Nareki, who has started every match so far for the Highlanders, will be given a chance to make an impact off the bench this week.

Scott Gregory will move from the right-wing to the left-wing making way for Josh McKay to make his competition debut.

In the reserves Folau Fakatava and Ethan De Groot will be included in the playing team for the first time after Kayne Hammington broke his hand in the final moments of the Hurricanes match and Daniel Lienert-Brown is unavailable due to dental surgery this week.

Should de Groot take the field this will be his Super Rugby debut.

Head Coach, Aaron Mauger, is looking for improvement from his team, “We have had our chances in every game we’ve played and the guys are working at getting better every time they run out, we are all aware the standard of play in this competition is extremely high and you need your very best against any team.“

Unavailable due to injury: Nathan Vella (concussion), Nehe Milner-Skudder (shoulder), Ngatungane Punivai (concussion), Daniel Lienert-Brown (teeth)

Season ending injuries: Sione Misiloi (foot), Thomas Umaga-Jensen (shoulder), James Lentjes (ankle), Conor Garden-Bachop (back), Sam Gilbert (knee), Josh Dickson (leg), Kayne Hammington (hand).


1. Ayden Johnstone 2. Ash Dixon (cc) 3. Siate Tokolahi 4. Paripari Parkinson 5. Jack Whetton 6. Shannon Frizell 7. Dillon Hunt 8. Marino Mikaele Tu’u 9. Aaron Smith (cc) 10. Mitch Hunt 11. Scott Gregory 12. Patelesio Tomkinson 13. Rob Thompson 14. Josh McKay 15. Michael Collins

Replacements 16. Liam Coltman 17. Ethan De Groot 18. Jeff Thwaites 19. Manaaki Selby-Rickit 20. Jesse Parete 21. Folau Fakatava 22. Josh Ioane 23. Jona Nareki

Exit mobile version