Super Rugby

Highlanders rest Smith for Lions




Highlanders Super rugby head coach Aaron Mauger has named his team to play the Lions at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.

The starting fifteen has a settled look to it however halfback Aaron Smith has been rested and his place will be taken by Kayne Hammington.

James Lentjes will play at seven with Dillon Hunt earning a break and Tevita Nabura will make his second appearance of the season on the left wing. Josh Dickson and Marino Mikaele Tu’u will provide fresh legs off the bench.

Head Coach Mauger is glad to be back at Forsyth Barr Stadium, “we are all looking forward to the opportunity to be back at home to meet the significant challenge the Lions will provide.”


15 Ben Smith (captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Rob Thompson, 12 Tei Walden, 11 Tevita Nabura, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Kayne Hammington, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown

Replacements: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Kalolo Tuiloma, 19 Josh Dickson, 20 Marino Mikaele-Tu’u, 21 Josh Renton, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Sio Tomkinson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.