Highlanders thump Crusaders



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update .




It’s going to be a tough match for New Zealand’s lowest placed team this weekend as they arrive in Christchurch knowing that they have only won a single match in eight attempts and there are very few that will predict that the Highlanders will pick up a win this weekend.

AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Saturday May 17
Referee: Keith Brown (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand), Josh Noonan (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)
Assessor: Kim Eichmann (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 15, Crusaders 11, Highlanders 4
In Christchurch: Played 8, Crusaders 7, Highlanders 1
Last season: Round 11, April 14 2007: Crusaders 38-3 Highlanders at Carisbrook, Dunedin


Match Detail


0.00: We are waiting for the kick off.


4.00: The Crusaders were the first to score some points as the Crusaders got a rolling maul going and pushed Corey Flynn over to score the first try.


5.00: Dan Carter missed the conversion.


7.00: Dan Carter put in a cross field kick and Highlander Paul Williams simply caught the ball and ran in a great solo try.


8.00: The Try was not converted.


12.00: The Crusaders gave away a penalty so Mike Delany took the kick at posts and slotted it to put the Highlanders into the lead.


16.00: The Highlanders were next to give a penalty away so Dan Carter took the shot and equalled the scores.


21.00: The Crusaders gave away a penalty so Mike Delany took the kick from in front of the posts and put the Highlanders back in front.


28.00: The Crusaders levelled the scores again when Dan Carter sent over a penalty kick.


32.00: The Highlanders continued to take the game to the Crusaders as Toby Morland ran in their second try.


33.00: Mike Delany slotted the conversion to put the Highlanders in front.


35.00: The Highlanders shocked the Crusaders again as Adam Thomson drove over the line for the Highlanders third try.


The Highlanders are now in the hunt for a bonus point try.


36.00: Mike Delany missed the conversion.


39.00: The Highlanders gave away a penalty for a dangerous tackle so Dan Carter took the kick and slotted almost from the corner flag.


40.10: The Siren goes for half time. They play on but a knock forward ends the half.



The half time score was Crusaders 14 Highlanders 23


The second half is underway.


47.00: The Highlanders went on the attack again but as they got to the line Niva Ta’auso passed to his left instead of the right where he had two players waiting for the ball.


53.00: The Crusaders are much more in control of the match and they now have the ascendancy.


56.00: The Crusaders gave away a penalty so Mike Delany took the kick but it went wide.


58.00: Fetu’u Vainikolo came close to scoring a try and the Highlanders asked for a penalty try but the ref said no.


59.00: Mike Delany took a penalty kick and extended the lead.


After 66 minutes territory favours the Highlanders by 64 %


67.00: Leon MacDonald comes off for the Crusaders.


68.00: Mike delany has another shot at goal for a penalty and it just shaves the post.


70.00: Richie McCaw is sent to the bin for 10 minutes. Mike Delany misses the resulting penalty.


72.00: Jimmy Cowan comes on for Toby Morland.


77.00: Craig Newby rallies his troops to keep up the pressure and hang on for the win.


79.20: Richie McCaw returns to the field.


80.00: The Siren goes and the Crusaders have lost.


The final score is Crusaders 14 Highlanders 26






Tries – Corey Flynn

Pen – Dan Carter (3)

Con –
Cards – Richie McCaw 14 (yellow)



Tries – Paul Williams, Toby Morland, Adam Thomson

Pen – Mike Delany (3)

Con – Mike Delany





Crusaders team

15. Leon MacDonald,14. Kade Poki ,13. Caleb Ralph ,12. Stephen Brett ,1. Sean Maitland ,10. Daniel Carter ,9. Andrew Ellis ,8. Mose Tuiali’i ,7. Richard McCaw (captain) ,6. Reuben Thorne ,5. Ali Williams ,4. Brad Thorn ,3. Greg Somerville ,2. Corey Flynn ,1. Ben Franks

Reserves: : 16. Ti’i Paulo ,17. Wyatt Crockett ,18. Kieran Read ,19. Nasi Manu ,20. Kahn Fotuali’i ,21. Tim Bateman ,22. Casey Laulala.




15. Mike Delany,14. Paul Williams ,13. Niva Ta’auso,12. Johnny Leota,11. Fetu’u Vainikolo,10. Daniel Bowden,9. Toby Morland, 8. Craig Newby ( c ),7. Tim Boys,6. Adam Thomson,5. Tom Donnelly,4. Hayden Triggs,3. Clint Newland,2. David Hall,1. Chris King


Reserves:16. Jason Macdonald,17. Keith Cameron,18. Isaac Ross,19. George Naoupu,20. Jimmy Cowan,21. Aaron Bancroft,
22. Glen Horton.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.