Highlanders to become 1st NZ team to face Cheetahs




The Highlanders have named their team to take on the South African newcomers The Cheetahs for their first match against them in Bloemfontein.

The Highlanders become the first New Zealand team to face three South African teams on the road in succession. In the Super 12 the NZ teams were only way for two weeks but they will now be on the road for three weeks. The Hurricanes and Blues will face the same challenge later this season.

Anton Oliver captains the team and only No. 8 Newby is unavailable as he is serving a one-week suspension for a dangerous tackle against the Blues. In his place comes Filipo Levi.

Last week the Highlanders beat the Blues at home and the Cheetahs beat the Sharks away from home. Both teams have now won one and lost one each.

Highlanders team to face the Cheetahs

1. Clarke Dermody
2. Anton Oliver (c)
3. Carl Hayman
4. Tom Donnelly
5. James Ryan
6. Hoani MacDonald
7. Josh Blackie
8. Filipo Levi
9. Chris Smylie
10. Nick Evans
11. Roy Kinikinilau
12. Seilala Mapusua
13. Neil Brew
14. Vilimoni Delasau
15. Ben Blair


16. Jason Macdonald
17. Chris King
18. Hale T-Pole
19. Tim Boys
20. Jimmy Cowan
21. Callum Bruce
22. Richard Kahui

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.