Super Rugby

Highlanders beat Hurricanes in Dunedin




The second Super Rugby match on Saturday could well be the match of the weekend as it is a rematch of the 2015 Super Rugby final.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Lima Sopoaga kicks off and the match is underway.

2.00: Some early pressure from the Highlanders sees them attacking in the Hurricanes 22. Cory Jane however gets the ball and charges upfield into the Highlanders half. He is caught and the attack continues.

3.00: The ball changes hands a few times in a furious phase of the match which ends with the Highlanders dotting the ball down behind the posts for a 22 drop out. End to end stuff.

4.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes. Beauden Barrett lines up the kick. He nails it.

8.00: The Highlanders go on the attack in the Hurricanes 22. Sopoaga slips through a gap and passes to Malakai Fekitoa who goes over to score. TRY! That try came as a result of the Highlanders patience in attack.

10.00: Sopoaga hits the post with the conversion.

13.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Sopoaga takes the kick and nails it extending the lead.

15.00: The Hurricanes attack the Highlanders using their backs. The ball is lost and goes to ground.  Hurricanes possession is at 65% so far.

20.00: Ardie Savea is having an excellent match with some great steals. Penalty to the Hurricanes for Highlanders being offside. Barrett takes the shot and nails it.

22.00; Its all the Hurricanes on attack. They go through the phases in the Highlanders 22. 7 phases, 8 phases and then on the 9th phase a penalty to the Highlanders for holding on.

26.00: The Hurricanes attack again but again they concede a penalty. Sopoaga kicks for touch.

29.00: The game is held up due to an injury. The game resumes with a Highlanders scrum following a Hurricanes knock on.

31.00: The Highlanders win the scrum and kick up high. They chase the ball and Ben Smith loses it but the ball ricochets back to the Highlanders who attack until they pass the ball forward.

33.00: Possession : Highlanders 43% vs Hurricane 37%. The Highlanders win a penalty from the scrum. Sopoaga slots it and extends the lead.

37.00: The Highlanders kick and chase the ball upfield which forces the Hurricanes to kick it into touch. The Highlanders win the line out and attack on the Hurricanes 5m line.

38.00: The Hurricanes turn the ball over at the breakdown and Barrett kicks for touch. The Highlanders win the line out and attack all over again.

40.00: The ball is kicked into touch as the siren sounds. It is half time.

The half time score was Highlanders 11 Hurricanes 6

The second half is underway.

41.00: The Highlanders are caught offside so the Hurricanes have an early penalty.

42.00:Barrett takes the kick but misses.

45.00: The Hurricanes win the ball from a scrum and Barrett gets them through initially but as they go wide the Hurricanes lose the ball forward.

49.00: The Highlanders put the Hurricanes under pressure in their half but the Hurricanes defence holds strong. The Highlanders do however win a penalty from the pressure. Sopoaga slots the penalty.

53.00: The Hurricanes have upped their intensity in attack. The Highlanders defence looks up to the task though as initially they lose ground.

54.00: A break from James Marshall gets the Hurricanes into the Highlanders 22. They keep the ball alive through the phases and then TJ Perenara slips around the side of the ruck and dives over to score. TRY!

56.00: Barrett adds the conversion and the Hurricanes are right back in this.

60.00: The Hurricanes (Barrett) kick high and wide out to Julian Savea who drops to the floor with the ball and possibly scores. The TMO is called in to check the grounding.  Replays show several Highlanders wrestling with Savea for the ball and no clear grounding. No Try. Penalty for offside though.

61.00: Barrett slots the penalty and the Hurricanes are now in the lead.

67.00: The Highlanders have worked the ball down into the Hurricanes half but are struggling to make further ground.

68.00: The Highlanders win a scrum and Malakai Fekitoa powers to the tryline whilst being tackled by three players. He pushes the ball to the base of the post. The TMO is called in to check the grounding. The TMO rules the grounding is not clear and short. No try. Scrum 5.

69.00: The Highlanders win the scrum and Liam Squire gets an inside ball from Aaron Smith and goes in to score. However a forward pass is called so again no try.

70.00: Again the Highlanders win the scrum and Aaron Smith dives over to score but again no try. Scrum 5.

72.00: The Hurricanes win the scrum this time and Perenara clears the ball.

74.00: The Highlanders get the ball into the Hurricanes 22 but the Hurricanes defend and kick the ball out. The Highlanders attack again and win a penalty. They will kick for posts.

76.00: Hayden Parker slots the penalty and the Highlanders lead again.

79.00: The Hurricanes turn the ball over but Jason Woodward kicks it into touch.

80.00:The Highlanders win the line out and kick the ball out and have won.

The full time score Highlanders 17 (11) Hurricanes 16 (6)


Tries – M.Fekitoa
Pen – L.Sopoaga 3, H.Parker
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – TJ.Perenara
Pen – B.Barrett 3
Con – B.Barrett
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Jamie Nutbrown
Assistant Ref 2:Brendon Pickerill
TMO : Chris Wratt



1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Josh Hohneck , 4. Tom Franklin , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. Shane Christie ( cc) , 8. Luke Whitelock , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Teihorangi Walden , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Matt Faddes , 15. Ben Smith ( cc )

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon , 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 18. Siosiua Halanukonuka , 19. Liam Squire , 20. Dan Pryor , 21. Josh Renton , 22. Hayden Parker , 23. Jason Emery


James Marshall, Cory Jane, Vince Aso, Ngani Laumape, Julian Savea, Beauden Barrett, TJ Perenara (c), Victor Vito, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Mark Abbott, Blade Thomson, Jeff Toomaga-Allen, Leni Apisai, Reggie Goodes.

Replacements: Ricky Riccitelli, Chris Eves, Loni Uhila, Vaea Fifita, Callum Gibbins, Jamison Gibson-Park, Jason Woodward, Willis Halaholo.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.